![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
In the out-of-order situation, there is no longer anything to correct once they're taken...so it is no longer a correctable error....but it was until they were taken. Once they're taken, the situation becomes an official's mistake rather than a correctable error.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Oct 04, 2010 at 02:14pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
The play itself says, "The officials by mistake administer the penalty for the technical foul before the free throw(s) by A1." That statement does not indicate the foul FTs have already been taken. We all know how screwy some of these plays are worded. If we've shot the T but haven't shot the 1 & 1 yet, I'm not going to make the team re-shoot the technical just so we can say we did it in the correct order, when the case book says it's not an issue as long as all merited FTs are awarded.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
since all merited free throws were attempted it does not constitute a correctable error situation Quote:
If you've not shot merited FTs and have resumed the game by awarding other FTs or awarding a throwin, it becomes a correctable error situation...that is the basic definiation of a correctable error. The ball was put in play (made live) without awarding merited FTs. As a result, you'll shoot them at the time it is discovered that they need to be taken...assuming the time window for correcting the error has not passed. The FTs already taken for another foul of any kind shall stand as well as any other action that had occurred. You resume play whereever you were before taking the FTs....possession OOB as part of the penalty for the T (in this case) or possession OOB for the team that has the ball if the throwin for the T had already occurred. If it so happens that you realize that they were taken out of order after they've been taken, it WAS a correctable error situation but it has already been corrected....so it is now just a mistake that no longer needs correction.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Oct 05, 2010 at 02:19am. |
|
|||
You're clearing the line for the 1-and-1 and giving Team B the ball at the division line.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
I just want to clarify my understanding here. On the OP having that situation applied to middle/jr. high or high school ball, the correct procedure is that all technicals are shot after any free throws needing to be shot. Do I still remember some of the rules? (I had a rocky and very short season last year, hoping I haven't lost all of what I learned last year. Is there an 'intro' thread I came bore you all with my story?)
I was given both an 08-09 IAABO HS edition rule book as well as 09-10 NFHS rule book for use here in CO. So I guess we call by NFHS, never had that discussion in our meetings, have read from both and been right using either book. |
|
|||
Quote:
If that doesn't happen, and it turns out that FTs are shot "out of order", then it's a mistake, but all the FTs count. Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Most free throws? | Rock Chalk | Basketball | 31 | Sat Mar 10, 2007 09:59am |
Free throws | [email protected] | Basketball | 6 | Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:37pm |
Free Throws?? | Cyber-Ref | Basketball | 13 | Thu Jan 23, 2003 08:17am |
free throws | 49john | Basketball | 6 | Sat Jan 18, 2003 09:02pm |
How many free throws? | Dave Brost | Basketball | 17 | Fri Apr 27, 2001 10:40am |