![]() |
|
|
|||
9.2 Throw in provisions
Just a quick question. Some veteran officials and myself were talking about a throw in from under the basket that hits underneath the backboard. From the case book and rule book it says it's legal to hit the sides and the front face coming from out of bounds because they are inbounds, but neither says nothing about underneath the backboard, which is also inbounds. So I am saying it's legal to come from OOB on a throw in and hit the bottom of the backboard and come into play legally! I have been told by some that it's illegal and they have called several violations in front of me. AM I MISSING SOMETHING???
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE! |
|
|||
The bottom of the backboard, by rule is in-bounds and in play. There was an old interp floating around years ago that said that the administering official should watch which way the ball rebounded off the bottom of the board on a throw-in. If the ball rebounded straight down or out onto the court, it had to have hit the bottom of the board and thus was a legal throw-in. If instead, the ball rebounded back towards the end line, the ball must have hit the back of the backboard and thus had to be a violation.
Simple physics iow. |
|
|||
See NFHS rule 4-4-5. That says that all edges of the backboard are in-bounds. That obviously has to include the bottom edge.
|
|
|||
Would agree, thanks to all!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE! |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
From The Mythbusters' Files ...
The front, top, sides, and bottom of the backboard are all in play. The ball cannot pass over a rectangular backboard from either direction. The back of a backboard is out of bounds as well as the supporting structures.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Thanks ...
The front, top, sides, and bottom of the backboard are all in play. The ball cannot legally pass over a rectangular backboard from either direction. The back of a backboard is out of bounds as well as the supporting structures.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Well, it can do so physically but it would also be a violation. (Where "from" is intended to be form the back or from the front and not from the left/right).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Oct 05, 2010 at 05:26pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Rule 9 Section 2 Throw-in Provisions | RefLarry | Basketball | 8 | Mon Dec 07, 2009 08:24pm |
FT lane provisions | CoachP | Basketball | 12 | Wed Dec 10, 2008 12:45am |
Rule 9 Section 2-Throw In Provisions | RefLarry | Basketball | 15 | Mon Mar 31, 2008 06:02pm |
there are no provisions in the rules for "do-overs" | Nevadaref | Basketball | 4 | Thu Nov 22, 2007 07:30pm |
Rule Qestion: Throw-in Provisions | Skarecrow | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 30, 2006 09:04am |