The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2010, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64 View Post
Actually by rule, I believe u would be wrong on that ruling. If player A attempts a dribble while in air then "by rule" he has traveled. U cannot dribble without having a pivot foot.
Incorrect.

The REAL rule is that you can't start a dribble after lifting the pivot foot. If you've not yet established a pivot foot, you havn't lifted it.

So, an airborne player who starts a dribble has only traveled if they had previously been on the floor while in control of the ball AND had established a pivot foot (which might not always be the case). In this case, the player caught the ball in the air, then started the dribble, then landed....LEGAL.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1