View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2010, 03:32pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64 View Post
Actually by rule, I believe u would be wrong on that ruling. If player A attempts a dribble while in air then "by rule" he has traveled. U cannot dribble without having a pivot foot.
You're completely wrong by rule.

NFHS casebook play 4.15.1SitA(b)
While rebounding, A1 touches the ball while trying to gain control, after which A1 catches the ball and then pushes the ball to the floor to begin a dribble.
RULING: Legal. The dribble does not start until A1 has gained control.

Legal under NCAA rules also.

Camron gave the correct rationale.

Think of the play where A1 passes to A2 and A2 tips the ball to the floor without gaining possession and then dribbles away. A2 never established a pivot foot. Would you really call this traveling?

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Sep 09, 2010 at 03:38pm.
Reply With Quote