The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
I've got a headache.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 05:31pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
I've got a headache.
it's called "paralysis through analysis".
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 05:44pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,524
Inquiring Minds Want To Know ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
It's called "paralysis through analysis".
OK, so you're not pleased that I broke it down into a few different situations, each with a slight variation. I can understand that. But the bottom line is:

Are my interpretations correct?

Can a general statement be made regarding NFHS 10-5-4 that the infraction can be penalized at any time, up until the officials leave the confines of the gym, if the player with the illegal uniform (illegal number) actually participated in the game as one of the five players, even if there was a time lag between said player participating and the discovery of the infraction?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Aug 15, 2010 at 05:49pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 06:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
OK, so you're not pleased that I broke it down into a few different situations, each with a slight variation. I can understand that. But the bottom line is:

Are my interpretations correct?

Can a general statement be made regarding NFHS 10-5-4 that the infraction can be penalized at any time, up until the officials leave the confines of the gym, if the player with the illegal uniform (illegal number) actually participated in the game as one of the five players, even if there was a time lag between said player participating and the discovery of the infraction?
For simplifying purposes:

Play 1: The officials notice A16 wearing an illegal uniform while he is on the court.

Play 2: A16 never participates, but his name and number are in the book.

Play 3: The officials notice A16 wearing an illegal uniform just after he leaves the game for a substitute.

Play 4: The officials notice A16 wearing an illegal uniform long after he leaves the game, even after the final horn has sounded.


Assuming that I have those situations correct, these are my interpretations:

Play 1 - T.
Play 2 - No T.
Play 3 and Play 4 are logically equivalent. I would be inclined to rule both as T's.

The relevant question: Is there a "statute of limitations" on when an illegal uniform T can be issued?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 07:29pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,524
Thank You...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
Play 1: The officials notice A16 wearing an illegal uniform while he is on the court.
Play 2: A16 never participates, but his name and number are in the book.
Play 3: The officials notice A16 wearing an illegal uniform just after he leaves the game for a substitute.
Play 4: The officials notice A16 wearing an illegal uniform long after he leaves the game, even after the final horn has sounded.
Assuming that I have those situations correct, these are my interpretations:
Play 1 - T.
Play 2 - No T.
Play 3 and Play 4 are logically equivalent. I would be inclined to rule both as T's.
I concur. Any other interpretations out there in Official Forum Land?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I concur. Any other interpretations out there in Official Forum Land?
I agree with the answers by sselter. Also, there is no statute of limitations on an illegal uniform direct T to the head coach. If it can be proven that the player participated while wearing an illegal uniform, then the penalty is warranted.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 16, 2010, 07:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I agree with the answers by sselter. Also, there is no statute of limitations on an illegal uniform direct T to the head coach. If it can be proven that the player participated while wearing an illegal uniform, then the penalty is warranted.
Just so that I'm clear:

If A25 enters the game, but is not in the book, and leaves the game with no one noticing, then A25 does not need to be added (with a penalty of a T) unless he is substituted back into the game.

If A16 is in the game (and in the book) and leaves, then HC of team A can be issued a direct T for the illegal uniform at any point that it is dicovered until the official's jurisdiction ends.


New play (call if play #5): A16 is not listed in the official scorebook and is wearing an illegal uniform. A16 enters the game and the scorer does not notify the official that A16 needs to be entered into the book and none of the officials notice that A16 is wearing an illegal uniform. A16 leaves the game 1 minute later and a)does not return or b) returns in the fourth quarter. In both a) and b), after A16 leaves the game, the situation is brought to the attention of the officials.

Question: In a) Should HC A be issued a T for the illegal uniform when the officials notice that he participated? Does it matter that A16 is not in the book?

In b) Should HC A be issued a T for the illegal uniform when the officials notice that he participated? When A16 attempts to enter the game in the 4th quarter, is A also issued a T for adding the player into the book?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 07:31pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,524
Same Question ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
The relevant question: Is there a "statute of limitations" on when an illegal uniform T can be issued?
I don't think so, but I'm willing to hear other viewpoints.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 08:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
For simplifying purposes:

Play 1: The officials notice A16 wearing an illegal uniform while he is on the court.

Play 2: A16 never participates, but his name and number are in the book.

Play 3: The officials notice A16 wearing an illegal uniform just after he leaves the game for a substitute.

Play 4: The officials notice A16 wearing an illegal uniform long after he leaves the game, even after the final horn has sounded.


Assuming that I have those situations correct, these are my interpretations:

Play 1 - T.
Play 2 - No T.
Play 3 and Play 4 are logically equivalent. I would be inclined to rule both as T's.

The relevant question: Is there a "statute of limitations" on when an illegal uniform T can be issued?
Agreed with 1 and 2.

3 and 4 are the same as "player with the wrong number in the book who doesn't score or foul" questions we've gone on and on (and on) about over the years. No specific guidance, as far as I recall (but it's still summer and my mind is a million miles from basketball).
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
3 and 4 are the same as "player with the wrong number in the book who doesn't score or foul" questions we've gone on and on (and on) about over the years. No specific guidance, as far as I recall (but it's still summer and my mind is a million miles from basketball).
That changed last season when the NFHS did provide some specific guidance.

See 3.2.2 Sit C.

Of course, I've taken the position that the NFHS play ruling is incorrect as it does not mesh with the text of the NFHS rules book.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 16, 2010, 02:29am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,524
*3.2.2 situation c ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
See 3.2.2 Sit C.
*3.2.2 SITUATION C: Team A substitute No. 25 reports to the table for the first
time with approximately one minute remaining in the second quarter and is beckoned
onto the court. In (a), the ball is put in play by a throw-in from A1 to A2.
The horn sounds and the scorer informs the officials that No. 25 is not listed in
the scorebook. In (b), No. 25 plays the remainder of the second quarter. During
halftime intermission, the official scorer realizes No. 25 is not listed in the scorebook
and informs the officials when they return to the court before the start of
the third quarter. RULING: In (a), No. 25 is currently in the game and became a
player when he/she legally entered the court. Since his or her name and number
must now be entered into the scorebook, a technical foul is charged to Team A.
In (b), no penalty is assessed since No. 25 is not currently in the game. If No. 25
attempts to enter the game in the second half, his or her name and number will
be added to the scorebook and a technical foul charged to Team A. (3-2-2b; 10-
1-2b)

4-34:
ART. 1 A player is one of five team members who are legally on the court
at any given time, except intermission.
ART. 2 Bench personnel are all individuals who are part of or affiliated with
a team, including, but not limited to: substitutes, coaches, manager(s) and
statistician(s). During an intermission, all team members are bench personnel.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Aug 16, 2010 at 02:32am.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 16, 2010, 11:14am
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Are my interpretations correct?
It appears to me that the key word in 10-5-4 is "participate." I take that to mean a player, and not bench personnel.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
uniforms boss21 Basketball 8 Tue Jan 19, 2010 05:34pm
Illegal uniforms?? bonehead Basketball 15 Sat Dec 26, 2009 03:43pm
Uniforms mendy Basketball 19 Thu Mar 20, 2008 01:31pm
Illegal uniforms just another ref Basketball 7 Tue Nov 27, 2007 04:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1