The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 10:53am
SAK SAK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 284
If A16 never enters the game then there is no reason for the scorer to change the number in the score book. 10-2-c the note says penalize when they occur. A16 has not entered the game so if the official missed it in the book prior to the 10 minute mark nothing has occurred. Also this is a team technical, an Administrative technical not charged to the head coach but counts toward team fouls (see Technical-Foul Penalty Summary chart at the back of the rule book.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 11:03am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,504
Please Double Check This ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAK View Post
Also this is a team technical, an Administrative technical not charged to the head coach but counts toward team fouls (see Technical-Foul Penalty Summary chart at the back of the rule book.
Are you sure? Illegal uniforms (and thus, illegal numbers (NFHS 3-4)) fall under 10-5-4 and are charged directly to the head coach.

NFHS 10-5-4: The head coach shall not permit a team member to participate while wearing an illegal uniform (see 3-4). PENALTY: (Section 5) Two free throws plus ball for division-line throw-in. The foul is charged directly to the head coach. (Art. 4) Penalized when discovered. Only one technical foul is charged regardless of the number of offenders.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 11:08am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,504
No Change In Scorebook Needed ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAK View Post
If A16 never enters the game then there is no reason for the scorer to change the number in the score book.
My fault. I didn't make this clear in my original post. Let's assume that A16 is wearing number sixteen on his uniform, and that there are no extra uniforms available, so he's going to wear number sixteen no matter what, as a team member on the bench, or as a player if, and when, he gets into the game, so in all cases, there would be no change in the scorebook.

I do agree with you that if A16 never enters the game as a player, then there is no infraction, and thus, no penalty, but, as stated above, disagree with you regarding the need, or lack of, to change the book.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Aug 15, 2010 at 11:32am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 11:17am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,504
Ten Minute Mark ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAK View Post
A16 has not entered the game so if the official missed it in the book prior to the 10 minute mark nothing has occurred.
Does the ten minute mark in any way apply to illegal uniforms, and thus, illegal numbers?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAK View Post
If A16 never enters the game then there is no reason for the scorer to change the number in the score book. 10-2-c the note says penalize when they occur. A16 has not entered the game so if the official missed it in the book prior to the 10 minute mark nothing has occurred. Also this is a team technical, an Administrative technical not charged to the head coach but counts toward team fouls (see Technical-Foul Penalty Summary chart at the back of the rule book.
Wrong rule.

An illegal uniform / number used to be charged to the player ( was 10-3-2); now it's charged to the head coach (10-5-4).

The "ten minute rule" doesn't have much to do with this, although if the infraction is discovered before that point, and can be corrected, then there's going to be no penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 11:54am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,504
Illegal And Penalized ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Does the ten minute mark in any way apply to illegal uniforms, and thus, illegal numbers?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The "ten minute rule" doesn't have much to do with this, although if the infraction is discovered before that point, and can be corrected, then there's going to be no penalty.
So the uniform number sixteen on a team member doesn't become "illegal and penalized" until after the ten minute mark, and after the team member with such an illegal uniform number has actually participated in the game?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 01:08pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
So the uniform number sixteen on a team member doesn't become "illegal and penalized" until after the ten minute mark, and after the team member with such an illegal uniform number has actually participated in the game?
by "corrected", bob of course means the player may change jerseys (if available).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 01:51pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,504
Let Me Make This Simplier ...

The referee carelessly fails to note that A16 (an illegal number, and thus, an illegal uniform) is listed in the scorebook when he checks the scorebook twelve minutes before the scheduled start of the game. A16 is wearing a jacket during the pregame warmups so the illegal number is missed by the umpire observing the pregame warmup. A16 starts the game. One minute into the game, while A16 is one of the five players participating on the court, an official notices that A16 is wearing an illegal uniform, due to an illegal number, and charges head coach of Team A with a direct technical foul, which counts toward the team foul total for the purpose of the bonus. The head coach of Team A will lose the coaching box privilege for the remainder of the game. Team B receives two free throws for the technical foul and receives the ball for a throwin at the division line opposite the table. A16, and any other Team A players with illegal uniforms are allowed to play with no further penalty.

Correct interpretation?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Aug 15, 2010 at 02:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 02:05pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,504
Really Simple ...

The referee carelessly fails to note that A16 (an illegal number, and thus, an illegal uniform) is listed in the scorebook when he checks the scorebook twelve minutes before the scheduled start of the game. A16 is wearing a jacket during the pregame warmups so the illegal number is missed by the umpire observing the pregame warmup. A16 never participates in the game as one of the five players participating on the court. Score at the buzzer that ends the fourth period: Team A 60, Team B 59. Before leaving the visual confines of the court at the end of the game, the head coach of Team B politely points out to the officials that team member A16 had an illegal uniform, due to an illegal number. The officials, citing NFHS 10-5-4: "The head coach shall not permit a team member to participate while wearing an illegal uniform ... Penalized when discovered.", rules that no infraction has occurred because A16 never "participated".

Correct interpretation?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Aug 15, 2010 at 04:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2010, 02:09pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,504
More Complex ...

The referee carelessly fails to note that A16 (an illegal number, and thus, an illegal uniform) is listed in the scorebook when he checks the scorebook twelve minutes before the scheduled start of the game. A16 is wearing a jacket during the pregame warmups so the illegal number is missed by the umpire observing the pregame warmup. A16 starts the game. One minute into the game, substitute A5 reports to the table, is legally beckoned, and legally replaces A16, who now becomes a nonparticipating team member on the bench. Head coach of Team B now politely points out that A16, who is now on the bench, was wearing an illegal uniform, due to an illegal number, while participating a few moments ago. The official, citing NFHS 10-5-4: "The head coach shall not permit a team member to participate while wearing an illegal uniform ... Penalized when discovered.", now charges head coach of Team A with a direct technical foul, which counts toward the team foul total for the purpose of the bonus. The head coach of Team A will lose the coaching box privilege for the remainder of the game. Team B receives two free throws for the technical foul and receives the ball for a throwin at the division line opposite the table. A16, and any other Team A players with illegal uniforms are allowed to play with no further penalty.

Correct interpretation? Does the fact the the ball is live, or dead, when the inquiry is made by head coach of Team B have any impact on this interpretation?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Aug 15, 2010 at 02:12pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
uniforms boss21 Basketball 8 Tue Jan 19, 2010 05:34pm
Illegal uniforms?? bonehead Basketball 15 Sat Dec 26, 2009 03:43pm
Uniforms mendy Basketball 19 Thu Mar 20, 2008 01:31pm
Illegal uniforms just another ref Basketball 7 Tue Nov 27, 2007 04:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1