The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 10:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: depends on your perspective
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodwillRef View Post
Would agree...no foul in this case.
Agreed...I'm passing on that one. No brainer.

(Yes, it's a foul - but would be poor GM to blow on that one.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLH17 View Post
Agreed...I'm passing on that one. No brainer.

(Yes, it's a foul - but would be poor GM to blow on that one.)
If it's a foul, why don't you blow the whistle? A good official never "passes" on a foul, especially in the name of "game management".

Or, is it really contact that never caused a disadvantage? If so, then it's not a foul, and there's nothing to call.

A subtle but important difference. In asdf's play, he said "B1 fouls A1 across the arm." Then the official needs to call it, because a foul occurred. If, however, the true meaning was "B1 contacted A1's arm, and the pass was not affected", then the contact was ruled incidental, a foul did not occur, and therefore there was nothing to call.

A foul is a foul, period. Contact, however can be incidental, or it can be a foul. If it's incidental contact, then there's no foul. Words, and their specific meanings, are important.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: depends on your perspective
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
If it's a foul, why don't you blow the whistle? A good official never "passes" on a foul, especially in the name of "game management".

Or, is it really contact that never caused a disadvantage? If so, then it's not a foul, and there's nothing to call.

A subtle but important difference. In asdf's play, he said "B1 fouls A1 across the arm." Then the official needs to call it, because a foul occurred. If, however, the true meaning was "B1 contacted A1's arm, and the pass was not affected", then the contact was ruled incidental, a foul did not occur, and therefore there was nothing to call.

A foul is a foul, period. Contact, however can be incidental, or it can be a foul. If it's incidental contact, then there's no foul. Words, and their specific meanings, are important.
I agree. It would def have to be classified as "incidental" contact. And, we move on.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
If it's a foul, why don't you blow the whistle? A good official never "passes" on a foul, especially in the name of "game management".

Or, is it really contact that never caused a disadvantage? If so, then it's not a foul, and there's nothing to call.

A subtle but important difference. In asdf's play, he said "B1 fouls A1 across the arm." Then the official needs to call it, because a foul occurred. If, however, the true meaning was "B1 contacted A1's arm, and the pass was not affected", then the contact was ruled incidental, a foul did not occur, and therefore there was nothing to call.

A foul is a foul, period. Contact, however can be incidental, or it can be a foul. If it's incidental contact, then there's no foul. Words, and their specific meanings, are important.
How about if B1 in the course of trying to stop A1's pass to A3 knocks A1 to the floor, yet the pass is still on target? B1 displaced A1 which by definition, is a foul.....

You killing this?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: depends on your perspective
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
How about if B1 in the course of trying to stop A1's pass to A3 knocks A1 to the floor, yet the pass is still on target? B1 displaced A1 which by definition, is a foul.....

You killing this?
If that isn't a classic example of incidental contact, I don't know what is.

Seriously, though, that is probably a HTBT type of play.

Last edited by DLH17; Fri Jul 16, 2010 at 11:18am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Now, if B3, B4, and B5 are in the front court and A1 is knocked down, we are going to get a foul, thus demonstrating that a foul is not always a foul.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
Now, if B3, B4, and B5 are in the front court and A1 is knocked down, we are going to get a foul, thus demonstrating that a foul is not always a foul.
Not always.

2-3 years ago, semi-fastbreak. A has 3 players involved (A5 going down the lane, A2 going to the corner and A1 with the ball out top). B has 3 defenders back...one on the ball hander, 2 in the paint to cover A5, no one on A2.

A1, the point guard, right in front of his team's bench, gets hammered as he passes the ball...ending up on the floor. The coach is a very good guy and rarely says much but starts to react to the fact that his player was knocked down. I was trail right by the coach. I indicate to the coach something like..."Look (while pointing to the corner), your shooter is wide open with the ball (as the shooter is releasing a 3-pointer)". He responds with something simple like "Oh" and smiled as the ball swished through the net.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Jul 16, 2010 at 12:02pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 11:19am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
B1 displaced A1 which by definition, is a foul.....
As defined where?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
As defined where?
Are you suggesting that displacement is not illegal personal contact?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 11:31am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
Are you suggesting that displacement is not illegal personal contact?

Not necessarily. Not if no one is put at a disadvantage.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
How about if B1 in the course of trying to stop A1's pass to A3 knocks A1 to the floor, yet the pass is still on target? B1 displaced A1 which by definition, is a foul.....

You killing this?
I'm not commenting on a series of "what-if'" plays, I'm commenting on your specific usage of words. In your original question, you said B1 fouls A1 across the arm. Then, it's simple - blow the whistle because you determined a foul occured. But again, if you are simply envisioning a play where B1 contacts A1's arm during the pass, and the pass is not affected because A3 was able to score easily, then most of us would agree that the contact was incidental, and therefore a foul did not occur.

In your play you appear to use the term "foul" interchangeably with "contact", and that would be incorrect usage. That also causes a lot of misconceptions. We never "pass" on a foul; we do however, judge some contact to be incidental, and thus a foul has not occured. That's where the phrase "A foul is a foul" comes in - it does not mean the same contact should be ruled a foul every single time. It simply means we never "pass" on fouls, even though we may rule contact to be incidental, and thus no foul occured.

Can you understand the difference?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
I'm not commenting on a series of "what-if'" plays, I'm commenting on your specific usage of words. In your original question, you said B1 fouls A1 across the arm. Then, it's simple - blow the whistle because you determined a foul occured. But again, if you are simply envisioning a play where B1 contacts A1's arm during the pass, and the pass is not affected because A3 was able to score easily, then most of us would agree that the contact was incidental, and therefore a foul did not occur.

In your play you appear to use the term "foul" interchangeably with "contact", and that would be incorrect usage. That also causes a lot of misconceptions. We never "pass" on a foul; we do however, judge some contact to be incidental, and thus a foul has not occured. That's where the phrase "A foul is a foul" comes in - it does not mean the same contact should be ruled a foul every single time. It simply means we never "pass" on fouls, even though we may rule contact to be incidental, and thus no foul occured.

Can you understand the difference?
My examples of "what if's" are very likely to happen in a game.

The contact by B1 on A1 is exactly the same, the immdiate result (the pass) is the same, yet in one example A has a distinct advantage and in the other A has no advantage.

Pass on the foul in the former, but do not pass on the later.

Last edited by asdf; Fri Jul 16, 2010 at 11:40am.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
My examples of "what if's" are very likely to happen in a game.

The contact by B1 on A1 is exactly the same, the immdiate result (the pass) is the same, yet in one example A has a distinct advantage and in the other A has no advantage.

You pass on the foul in the former, but do not pass on the later.
This is my whole point - the official does not pass on a foul. The official determines the contact to be incidental in one instance, but not incidental, and thus a foul, in another.

We are not disagreeing about the final result of each play. I am still trying to point out your usage of the terms, and the confusion it can cause. The definition of "foul" is specific - it is illegal contact. We all agree contact could be illegal in one situation, and the same contact be incidental in another. But we cannot determine the contact to be illegal in both cases, but call the foul in one and pass on the foul in another.

It's a subtle difference, but it is important in how you communicate with players and coaches.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2010, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
This is my whole point - the official does not pass on a foul. The official determines the contact to be incidental in one instance, but not incidental, and thus a foul, in another.

We are not disagreeing about the final result of each play. I am still trying to point out your usage of the terms, and the confusion it can cause. The definition of "foul" is specific - it is illegal contact. We all agree contact could be illegal in one situation, and the same contact be incidental in another. But we cannot determine the contact to be illegal in both cases, but call the foul in one and pass on the foul in another.

It's a subtle difference, but it is important in how you communicate with players and coaches.
I think that telling B's coach that the contact in the first scenario was incidental, may get you into trouble when you call a foul on B for the exact same contact in the second scenario.

I always advise that I am not taking that advantage away from the other team and if the table were turned, they'll get the same benefit.

That approach has worked well for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Icy roads, 3.5 drive, $53. We do this for the money. Rich Basketball 3 Sun Feb 10, 2008 02:46pm
Five second count on a drive Back In The Saddle Basketball 31 Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:20pm
LBR when F1 catches line drive? IamMatt Softball 11 Mon Jun 12, 2006 01:53pm
Basket Interference question. Jerry Blum Basketball 1 Tue Nov 16, 2004 09:36am
membership drive johnfox General / Off-Topic 0 Sun Dec 17, 2000 10:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1