
Fri Jul 16, 2010, 11:09am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
If it's a foul, why don't you blow the whistle? A good official never "passes" on a foul, especially in the name of "game management".
Or, is it really contact that never caused a disadvantage? If so, then it's not a foul, and there's nothing to call.
A subtle but important difference. In asdf's play, he said "B1 fouls A1 across the arm." Then the official needs to call it, because a foul occurred. If, however, the true meaning was "B1 contacted A1's arm, and the pass was not affected", then the contact was ruled incidental, a foul did not occur, and therefore there was nothing to call.
A foul is a foul, period. Contact, however can be incidental, or it can be a foul. If it's incidental contact, then there's no foul. Words, and their specific meanings, are important.
|
How about if B1 in the course of trying to stop A1's pass to A3 knocks A1 to the floor, yet the pass is still on target? B1 displaced A1 which by definition, is a foul.....
You killing this?
|