The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 12:17am
Official Forum Member

Why call traveling? It's the NBE.

Next time SC airs take a look at the highlight clip of Rondo diving on the floor for a loose ball, recovering it, getting up, and then starting a dribble and scoring.

I'm no expert on the NBA rules, so I did some checking and couldn't find anything in them stating that this play is illegal. Apparently, one can stand up with the ball in the NBE.

If that's true, then the rules for this league are even more of a joke than I thought. If it's not true, then this play wasn't called correctly.
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 01:02am
We don't rent pigs

He was not holding the ball when he stood up. Ball was on the floor with the hand on top.

Lonesome Dove
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 02:28am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
He was not holding the ball when he stood up. Ball was on the floor with the hand on top.
So is a player allowed to pin the ball to the floor, stand up, then bring the ball up?

Or is a player allowed to set the ball on the floor next to him, stand up, and then pick up the ball?
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 06:38am
Official Forum Member

That is NOT a travel using the NBA rule set.

Video Rule Book - Home

Last edited by APG; Sun May 23, 2010 at 06:51am.
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 06:56am
In Memoriam

I just looked in the NBA rulebook and couldn't find a citation. Must be in the casebook.

A very noticeable NBA no-call though.....