| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			The NCAA book says the same thing as the NFHS on this point. 
 
A.R. 117. Is it traveling when a player: 
(1) Falls to the playing court while holding the ball without 
maintaining a pivot foot; or 
(2) Falls to the playing court on both knees while holding the 
ball without maintaining a pivot foot; or 
(3) Gains control of the ball while on the playing court and 
then, because of momentum, rolls or slides, after which the 
player passes or starts a dribble before getting to his or her feet? 
RULING: (1) and (2) Yes, when the pivot foot is not maintained because 
it is virtually impossible not to move the pivot foot when falling to the 
playing floor. 
(3) No. The player may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a timeout. Once 
the player has the ball and is no longer sliding, he or she may not roll over. 
When flat on his or her back, the player may sit up without violating. 
When the player puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to 
touch the ball, it also is traveling. When a player rises to his or her feet 
while holding the ball, it is traveling. When a player falls to one knee 
while holding the ball, it is traveling if the pivot foot moves. 
(Rule 4-70.6 and 4-70.1)
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
			
			
			
				 
			
			
			
			
			
			
			
				
			
			
			
		 
	
	 |