![]() |
|
|
|||
What did the officials in this game do?
|
|
|||
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
"A player who strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt
to draw attention to the player...may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-3-6." Since there is ZERO basketball purpose to dunking and then striking, and obviously it did draw attention, this looks like a no-brainer to me. However, the fact that this happened this late in the season leads me to assume that it likely had taken place all season without penalty. A regional or state championship level game is probably not the best venue to make the point. Here in NC a significant number of our points of emphasis come from the observations of what takes place at the regional and state level tournaments. Something like this would likely find mentioning in the pre-season clinics, which is probably best case. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Contacting the board after a two-handed dunk is intentional.
If the dunk was from the very front of the basket, both hands would have to be released from the rim and travel 15 inches to the surface of the backboard. If the dunk was from the side, the player would then have to turn his body and have one hand travel no less than 6 inches to the glass, with the other traveling upwards of 15 inches to the glass. This is in violation of 10-3-4b is should always be penalized with a technical foul. |
|
|||
Are you sure about this? Because thats not the way I read 10-3-4. Refer back to BillyMac's post which I agree with. If you replace should with May I would then agree with your statement.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. |
|
|||
Quote:
Whether the act of slapping the board was "intentional" or not is always a judgment call. See NFHS case book play 10.3.5COMMENT--"The purpose of the rule is is to penalize intentional contact with the backboard while a shot or try is involved or placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage. A player who strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or as a means of venting frustration MAY be assessed a technical foul pursuant to rule 10-3-7." Note the usage of the highlighted "may". That confirms Smokie's take on the call. |
|
|||
Quote:
NOBODY has ever dunked the basketball and then UNINTENTIONALLY slapped the backboard with two hands. It's a T, every time. The things we argue about here are so stupid sometimes. ![]()
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith Last edited by BktBallRef; Mon Mar 15, 2010 at 05:29pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Almost dunk | just another ref | Basketball | 25 | Sun Mar 14, 2010 01:18pm |
Pregame Dunk | Chess Ref | Basketball | 14 | Wed Dec 03, 2008 07:56am |
pass to self, dunk | mutantducky | Basketball | 9 | Sun Nov 30, 2008 10:48am |
Pregame Dunk | JasonTX | Basketball | 7 | Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:25am |
Pre-Game Dunk | IREFU2 | Basketball | 31 | Mon Jan 02, 2006 08:44am |