![]() |
|
|
|||
Update
Got more details. The fouls were for 1) unsporting conduct and 2)for touching or dislodging the ball on a throw-in. Apparently the calling official said he didn't want to eject the kid for the second T so he didn't! The state association has a rule that disqualification for two technicals means a suspension, so they rsuspended him for the next playoff game anyway.
This all apparently happened in the first quarter and the kid went on to score a boatload. The opposing coach must be beside himself. Tournament officials, too. |
|
|||
here you go
take your pick
Lynn English's Woumn hit with 1-game suspension - The Boston Globe Lynn English star suspended - BostonHerald.com Krause: Don't blame MIAA for English predicament Bulldogs' Woumn suspended, but Prep still has tall order - SalemNews.com, Salem, MA apparently this school has some kind of recruiting scandal on top of all this |
|
|||
Ah, yes, here it is!
Quote:
10-3-PENALTY-NOTE-EXCEPTION: If the official who charges a single flagrant technical foul or the second technical foul isn't in the mood to disqualify the offending player, then 10-3-PENALTY-NOTE doesn't apply, and the player may continue playing. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Can you get a follow up on this? In my neck of the woods, that official could be toast for any tournament games in the coming years. |
|
|||
Quote:
The bottom line is that you should just follow the rules in cases like this. Never inject your own personal beliefs. Let the governing body decide what they want to do next. That's their job, not our's. JMO.... |
|
|||
Quote:
I personally think this particular 'T' should be a Team Technical or an Indirect to the player. But I don't write the rules.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Update on this story. Lynn English lost its next game in the tournament by one. Most definitely would have been a different game if Woumn played, but that's the way the cookie crumbles.
The only word I have on the officials is that all 3 are supposedly college officials. I wouldn't take that information to the bank, but it raises a question for me. I'm not very familiar with NCAA rules, so I'm wondering if the T for reaching through the plane and making contact with the ball carries a different penalty in NCAA-M or NCAA-W? I know we have plenty of NCAA officials out there who can set me straight. |
|
|||
And what about that official's partners, who conspired in this travesty? Seems that plenty of toast should be in the offing.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Mass High School Tourney problems | hoopguy | Basketball | 48 | Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:46pm |
Benefits of Western Mass | ChuckElias | Basketball | 5 | Fri Jan 18, 2002 01:57pm |