![]() |
Murphy's Law in Mass
Afriend from Massachusetts sent me this link.
Playoff game, kid gets a T for breaking the plane, itg it's a T I assume for touching the ball during a throw-in. Gets whacked again, apparently for unsporting conduct. Officials let kid play despite technicals, he scores 21 in a 16 point win. State association has some sort of rule where ejection brings automatic suspension, so not only was good for the game where he got called, he's good for the next game unless state group invokes its authority to levy suspension. Sounds like crawl in a cave stuff to me. English boys pull away to reach Division 1 North semifinals |
If the story is correct, it sounds like the officials mistakenly assessed a team "T" for touching the ball in the thrower's hands instead of correctly charging the "T" to the player.
But....sometimes these stories aren't factual. |
Quote:
It's possible that the T was for breaking the plane after a previous team warning for delay, in which case it is a team technical and not charged to the individual. |
Quote:
You never really know with newspaper accounts. |
Why would the officials call so many fouls? Don't they understand about "offensive flow?"
|
...or he contacted the thrower for an intentional foul instead of a technical foul and the writer didn't know the difference.
|
Quote:
|
Seems kinda odd that only the assistant coach is quoted. Thought I was eventually going to read the head coach was tossed.
|
Update
Got more details. The fouls were for 1) unsporting conduct and 2)for touching or dislodging the ball on a throw-in. Apparently the calling official said he didn't want to eject the kid for the second T so he didn't! The state association has a rule that disqualification for two technicals means a suspension, so they rsuspended him for the next playoff game anyway.
This all apparently happened in the first quarter and the kid went on to score a boatload. The opposing coach must be beside himself. Tournament officials, too. |
From whom did you get those details?
|
Ah, yes, here it is!
Quote:
10-3-PENALTY-NOTE-EXCEPTION: If the official who charges a single flagrant technical foul or the second technical foul isn't in the mood to disqualify the offending player, then 10-3-PENALTY-NOTE doesn't apply, and the player may continue playing. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Can you get a follow up on this? In my neck of the woods, that official could be toast for any tournament games in the coming years. |
Quote:
The bottom line is that you should just follow the rules in cases like this. Never inject your own personal beliefs. Let the governing body decide what they want to do next. That's their job, not our's. JMO.... |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56am. |