![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Kelvin gave the correct rules citation....and that was both his & my point. |
|
|||
Quote:
Either way, both have ultimately given the OP a correct ruling on the play in question. I'm fine with that. |
|
|||
Quote:
The situation being discussed in the original post was a completely different situation that the one outlined in 7-3-1. The situation being discussed was dual possession after a jump ball without the ball going OOB, and also with no AP procedure being set yet. Apples and oranges....and 2 completely different situations. Both situations are handled the exact same way but each different situation also has a different rule citation to back up their respective calls. You got the call right but the rule citation that you used was wrong iow. You used a rule citation that is valid for a completely different situation. That's all that was being pointed out. The correct rules citation for what to do for a held ball off an an opening jump ball as discussed in the original post is rule 6-4-3(a)NOTE, not rule 7-3-2.....even though they both have the exact same result. No biggie anyway. I think the idea has been gotten across already anyway. EDIT: or as what Snaqs said... |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
My point, I guess terribly made, is that these are jump ball procedures with no alternating possession arrow currently set. Call em apples and oranges if you want.
|
|
|||
If you stuck to original OP, that's what we were looking for. You meandered a little, but all is clear for both situations.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Jump ball tipped by A1 into A's backcourt. A2 and B2 chase after it and A2 and B2 simultaneously foul each other. Must A2 and B2 re-jump? Are they "the two player's involved" as in 6-4-3-Note? Does the "two player's involved" mean the jumpers (and the Note is just pointing out the location), or the players who caused the tie-up, double foul, double violation, simultaneous OOB? Back to my play: What if the foul disqualifies one or both of the players (either 5th foul during OT, or double flagrant)? Must their substitutes re-jump? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I'd never thought this post would have generated so many replies. The original play occured in a State post season girls game in Missouri. Sorry to say, the 3 officials did not apply the correct ruling. They placed A1 and B1 back in the jump circle. This play did not decide the outcome of the game, but it is good to know the in's and out's of the rules of basketball.
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|