Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  SAJ
					 
				 
				I guess I don't see where I'm wrong.  Both are based on the rule 7-3-2.  Where in the rule book is the held ball situation as presented defined?  I don't think it explicitly states it except in 7-3-2 as I posted.  
 
Either way, both have ultimately given the OP a correct ruling on the play in question.  I'm fine with that. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 Rule 7-3-2 tells us what to call if the ball is simultaneously 
touched and then 
goes OOB(as in rule 7-3-1) and the AP procedure is not yet established. 
The situation being discussed in the original post was a completely 
different situation that the one outlined in 7-3-1. The situation being discussed was dual 
possession after a jump ball 
without the ball going OOB, and also with no AP procedure being set yet. 
Apples and oranges....and 2 completely different situations.  
Both situations are handled the exact same way but each different situation also has a different rule citation to back up their respective calls.
You got the call right but the rule citation that you used was wrong iow.  You used a rule citation that is valid for a completely different situation. That's all that was being pointed out.
The correct rules citation for what to do for a held ball off an an opening jump ball as discussed in the original post is rule 6-4-3(a)NOTE, 
not rule 7-3-2.....even though they both have the exact same result.
No biggie anyway. I think the idea has been gotten across already anyway.
EDIT: or as what Snaqs said...