![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Rule 7-3-2 isn't relevant. It's concerned with dual touching before going OOB, not dual possession established in-bounds. Different situations but with the same basic ruling. Case book play 6.4.1SitC(c) as posted is the correct cite. Casebook play 6.4.1SitC(b) covers rule 7-3-2. Btw and fyi, rules citations use dashes between the numbers and case book plays use dots between the numbers. That's how we can tell immediately which you are referring to. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
case book play talks about dual touching oob as well...dual touching oob/dual touching ib....same procedure |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Kelvin gave the correct rules citation....and that was both his & my point. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Either way, both have ultimately given the OP a correct ruling on the play in question. I'm fine with that. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The situation being discussed in the original post was a completely different situation that the one outlined in 7-3-1. The situation being discussed was dual possession after a jump ball without the ball going OOB, and also with no AP procedure being set yet. Apples and oranges....and 2 completely different situations. Both situations are handled the exact same way but each different situation also has a different rule citation to back up their respective calls. You got the call right but the rule citation that you used was wrong iow. You used a rule citation that is valid for a completely different situation. That's all that was being pointed out. The correct rules citation for what to do for a held ball off an an opening jump ball as discussed in the original post is rule 6-4-3(a)NOTE, not rule 7-3-2.....even though they both have the exact same result. No biggie anyway. I think the idea has been gotten across already anyway. EDIT: or as what Snaqs said... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
My point, I guess terribly made, is that these are jump ball procedures with no alternating possession arrow currently set. Call em apples and oranges if you want.
|
|
|||
|
If you stuck to original OP, that's what we were looking for. You meandered a little, but all is clear for both situations.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Jump ball tipped by A1 into A's backcourt. A2 and B2 chase after it and A2 and B2 simultaneously foul each other. Must A2 and B2 re-jump? Are they "the two player's involved" as in 6-4-3-Note? Does the "two player's involved" mean the jumpers (and the Note is just pointing out the location), or the players who caused the tie-up, double foul, double violation, simultaneous OOB? Back to my play: What if the foul disqualifies one or both of the players (either 5th foul during OT, or double flagrant)? Must their substitutes re-jump? |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|