The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 11:25am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Oh?

SITUATION 12: Following a (a) charged time-out; or (b) a lengthy substitution process involving multiple substitutions for both teams, A5 goes to the bench and remains there mistakenly believing he/she has been replaced by a substitute. The ball is put in play even though Team A has only four players on the court. Team A is bringing the ball into A's frontcourt when the coach of Team A realizes they have only four players. The coach yells for A5 to return, and he/she sprints onto the court and catches up with play. RULING: In (a), the officials shall stop play and assess a team technical foul for not having all players return to the court at approximately the same time after a time-out. The technical foul counts toward the team-foul count. In (b), the officials may permit play to continue without penalty. A5's return to the court was not deceitful, nor did it provide A5 an unfair positioning advantage on the court. COMMENT: Even though neither situation provided A5 or Team A with an advantage, teams are expected to return to the court at approximately the same time following a time-out. The officials should have also followed the prescribed mechanics and counted the number of players on the court, ensuring each team has the legal number of players. (10-1-9; 10-3-3)
Interesting. I guess I was conflating the two situations.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkohls View Post
BJV last night. Start of the 2Q, I'm lead. Both huddles are slow coming out on the second horn. Trail administers throwin to V, and we go. About 10 seconds in C, tableside, blows the whistle. He waves me over, and says a player got up from the bench and ran onto the floor, passing him as he ran in. T says he counted 5 before handing the ball for the throw in, and C and myself both said we also counted 5. We assess the technical and I go to the V bench to explain. I tell him that we had V11 entering, during play and without being beckoned. He tells me that 11 had been on the floor when the ball was inbounded, got counfused about if he was supposed to be in the game, and sat down. According to the coach, since he had been on the floor legally at the throw in, that gave him the right to come back in as he did. I told him that in that case, his player had left the floor iliegally and the technical was still correct. His response? "Well, it worked last Tuesday."

It was an interesting situation for us, and the coach's response was very interesting...
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkohls View Post
We discussed it at half and that came up, but since the player then returned to the floor after sitting down on the bench, we still get we were correct, even if we may have fumbled the explanation.

How would you,oh wise ones, haave handled the situation?
So, tell me, to whom did you charge the Technical foul?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Sun Feb 21, 2010 at 11:31am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 12:39pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
So, tell me, to whom did you charge the Technical foul?
Rasheed Wallace.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 96
According to the OP, the player did return to the court for the start of the 2nd qtr;

1. Team V had five players to start qtr. Therefore Sit 12 A does not apply.

2. V11 leaves court - violation? (not called)

3. V11 then comes back on to the court; is this a T for not being beckoned? I think Sit 12 B applies - A5 is supposed to be on the court, and A5's return is not deceitful - therefore play on or IW.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 01:30pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,435
Answer A Question With A Question ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by gslefeb View Post
V11 then comes back on to the court; is this a T for not being beckoned?
Is he a substitute or a player?

A substitute shall not enter the court without reporting to the scorer; and without being beckoned by an official, except between periods.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 96
BillyMac

I agree - Sub or player? Sit 12 B - seems to indicate the 5th is a player and therefore can come onto the court.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 32
Thanks for the replies.

And sorry to offend, deecee. I didn't intend to convey a "retarded *** attitude." I read the board often and respect the views of the experienced officials who post. Therefore, I asked how they might have handled the situation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 09:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkohls View Post
And sorry to offend, deecee. I didn't intend to convey a "retarded *** attitude."
Dude, you did NOT convey a retarded attitude. Some people are just a bit too reactive. It's cool.
__________________
Paul LeBoutillier
Ontario, Oregon
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 22, 2010, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,081
Why are you apologizing to Deecee...he should be apologizing to you!!
__________________
Every game is a big game
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 22, 2010, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
I agree, I was out of line I just read your statement as overly sarcastic after a response was given.

My bad I need to get back on my prescribed dose of meds and not overdoing it
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 09:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by gslefeb View Post
According to the OP, the player did return to the court for the start of the 2nd qtr;

1. Team V had five players to start qtr. Therefore Sit 12 A does not apply.

2. V11 leaves court - violation? (not called)

3. V11 then comes back on to the court; is this a T for not being beckoned? I think Sit 12 B applies - A5 is supposed to be on the court, and A5's return is not deceitful - therefore play on or IW.
Correct response.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gslefeb View Post
BillyMac

I agree - Sub or player? Sit 12 B - seems to indicate the 5th is a player and therefore can come onto the court.
Again, you are correct that he is still a player, not a sub.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1