![]() |
|
|
|||
Who ReJumps?
Game starts with jumpers A1 and B1. A1 legally tips the ball. The ball hits the ground and there is a scramble for the ball. Nobody gains control of the ball. People dive on the ground, A2 and B2 both gain control. Tweet. Jump ball.
Who rejumps? A2 and B2 or the original jumpers? |
|
|||
I will have to disagree although 7-3-2 talks about this rule 6-4 governs and specifically directs us to have A2 and B2 do the jump
6.4.1 SITUATION C: Following the jump between A1 and B1 to start the first quarter, the jump ball: (a) is touched by A2 and it then goes out of bounds; (b) is touched simultaneously by A2 and B2 and it then goes out of bounds; (c) is simultaneously controlled by A2 and B2; or (d) is caught by A1. RULING: In (a),Team B will have a throw-in. The alternating-possession procedure is established and the arrow is set toward A’s basket when a player of Team B has the ball for the throw-in. Team A will have the first opportunity to throw-in when the procedure s used. In (b) and (c), A2 and B2 will jump in the center restraining circle regardless of where the ball went out or where the held ball occurred. In (d), Team B will have a throw-in because of the violation and the arrow for the alternatingpossession will be pointed towards Team A’s basket. (4-12-1; 4-28-1) |
|
|||
NFHS, the two players that tied up the ball jump. NCAA, any two players jump.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
Rule 7-3-2 isn't relevant. It's concerned with dual touching before going OOB, not dual possession established in-bounds. Different situations but with the same basic ruling. Case book play 6.4.1SitC(c) as posted is the correct cite. Casebook play 6.4.1SitC(b) covers rule 7-3-2. Btw and fyi, rules citations use dashes between the numbers and case book plays use dots between the numbers. That's how we can tell immediately which you are referring to. |
|
|||
Quote:
case book play talks about dual touching oob as well...dual touching oob/dual touching ib....same procedure |
|
|||
Quote:
Kelvin gave the correct rules citation....and that was both his & my point. |
|
|||
Quote:
Either way, both have ultimately given the OP a correct ruling on the play in question. I'm fine with that. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|