![]() |
|
|
|||
C screwed this by rule
2-5 ART. 5 . . . Decide matters upon which the timer and scorer disagree and correct obvious timing errors. When did he reset the clock? and how did he do it? There was a foul so he should not have been near the table as the new lead called the foul and would have gone table side. No one noticed he went to the table? I think I would have yanked him off the floor .... If he did not come to the crew before the shots the crew most likely did it right... I think this is where BEFORE you shoot the shots that the crew has to get together and get it right... I have a foul.. Did we hear the horn? Is the clock right? Once you have that figured out you can shoot your shots. Take your time --- getting this right is the only thing that matters.. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A Double Bonus is not really double. |
|
|||
I don't know about you, but if my partner is absolutely adamant that he saw time on the clock, I'd more than likely add time on the clock
|
|
|||
Certainly I would do so also, if he told me before the foul shots.
__________________
A Double Bonus is not really double. |
|
|||
timing is everything when it comes to time
To put time back on the clock after allowing free throws at the end of the game with nobody on the lane is preposterous. If the issue of adding time to the clock after free throws have been shot with no players on the lane is not directly covered by the rules. It therefore becomes a ruling that the R is entitled/required to make. The appropriate ruling would be that once the third free throw was shot with nobody in the first lane spaces as required by rule when the ball is to become live after the final shot in a series, the statute of limitations on putting time back on the clock had ended. If the foul had been called with time on the clock, the clock would have restarted after the third shot was missed or after the throw-in after it was made, so that becomes the point of no return. Therefore, to put time on the clock after the third shot was attempted is the equivalent of adding time to the clock after a throw-in. You can't do it.
The C came dangerously close to causing an overtime, for which he ought to be drawn and quartered. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
The C messed up big time. He should not have put time back on the clock without notifying the crew. By rule only the R can, but in my area we normally pre-game that any official can. The C should have realized something was wrong when no one was lining for the rebound.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
did we get this right tonight? | representing | Basketball | 24 | Sun Jan 10, 2010 07:52am |
ESPN.com Article - Confrenence says refs messed up | TussAgee11 | Basketball | 1 | Thu Jan 18, 2007 01:17pm |
Made the call...messed up the free throws... | Schmack42 | Basketball | 32 | Tue Jan 16, 2007 11:50am |
Haha, might have messed up... | AlabamaBlue | Football | 6 | Fri Sep 19, 2003 02:34pm |
messed up kick off | bluezebra58 | Football | 6 | Sun Sep 14, 2003 08:57am |