![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
If, before the clock runs out, the ball thrown from behind the 3-point line hits a teammate inside the 3-point line and goes in. Two points only. Same situation, except it hits an opponent inside the 3-point line. Three points? Clock runs out when thrown ball hits anyone, ball's dead. Am I correct in all three? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
No, he meant inside the line...the difference in the two cases was which team hits the ball while inside the 3-point line.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Feb 09, 2010 at 02:21pm. |
|
|||
Yeah, I realized that just after posting again. I thought he was asking about it hitting a teammate who is also behind 3 point line. My bad.....
|
|
|||
Quote:
The rules were/are a bit ambiguous on the point with one rule saying a thrown ball that goes in is a 3, even if the defense touches it with another rule/case having a situation where it is only a two if it bounces off someone's head into the basket. I'm in the camp of counting only 2 unless the ball was thrown towards the basket to start....meaning B's touch was more or less just a touch and not a bat of the ball in an entirely new act.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Feb 09, 2010 at 02:17pm. |
|
|||
It is my first season officiating basketball, everything has been strange to me.
![]() I wrap up the season with two Freshman boys games tonight.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
Weird in a funny way, I guess.
GJV. I'm lead, under the basket. High rebound and girl (instead of catching it) hits it backcourt like a volleyball serve. With the whistle in my mouth I kinda laugh under my breath, and my whistle goes "tweet". Everyone stops and looks, like "what's the call". I go with IW, and we play on. |
|
|||
Quote:
As for the defense hitting the ball, if a player shoots the ball outside the 3-point line and a defensive player tips the ball, last jumping from inside the line, it still counts as 3. Wouldn't the same apply if it's a try at basket, comes short and bounces off of an opponent's head, shoulder, or whatever and goes in. |
|
|||
Quote:
Case book play 4-41-4SitB(b) Knowing when a try ends is pretty fundamental. As usual, you had it wrong. |
|
||||
Quote:
A1 releases a try from outside the arc. It bounces off the rim and the rebound hits B1's head and goes in the basket. What's your call?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
When you put it that way, it makes sense. I got a little confused about it. Thanks Snaqs.
|
|
|||
Never seen this in 15 years.
I was watching a BV game which went to OT. Thankfully, I wasn't officiating it!
The ball was tossed and tapped into open space. One of the two opposing players going for it fouled the other. The offended team was in the bonus. The table crew sounded the horn and asked the officials which way to point to the AP arrow. While I have known the rule covering this situation for years, I've never seen it come into play. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
1st year confusion about plays in Casebook | cdoug | Football | 3 | Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:16pm |
Q from 1st Year: Tight Sideline Inbounds Plays | ca_rumperee | Basketball | 7 | Mon Feb 04, 2008 09:19am |
Weird Plays this Year? | GFS-1 | Basketball | 1 | Sun Jan 21, 2007 10:01pm |
Oddest Rules in the NF Book | rdfox | Football | 16 | Sat Jul 31, 2004 12:49am |
first year ref an first year coach | blarson | Basketball | 4 | Thu Dec 19, 2002 04:26pm |