The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 08, 2010, 06:13pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C View Post
everything else aside: do you guys actually call "an officials time out" for a player puts his show back on?
No. and we train our officials not to stop play either.

Displaced eyeglasses, yes. Shoes, no.

And you won't see play stopped at the NCAA level either for shoes(or you shouldn't).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
No. and we train our officials not to stop play either.

Displaced eyeglasses, yes. Shoes, no.

And you won't see play stopped at the NCAA level either for shoes(or you shouldn't).
Is a displaced contact considered the same as displaced eyeglasses? I observed a BV game last week where H1 had a contact come out. He was holding it on the tip of his finger, and asking the official to stop play. Official did not stop play, and waited for the next dead ball. Home coach not happy!

Also what is the rule reference for the eyeglasses. I know that I have read it but am having a brain cramp this morning.

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 09:17am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thumper68 View Post
Is a displaced contact considered the same as displaced eyeglasses? I observed a BV game last week where H1 had a contact come out. He was holding it on the tip of his finger, and asking the official to stop play. Official did not stop play, and waited for the next dead ball. Home coach not happy!

Also what is the rule reference for the eyeglasses. I know that I have read it but am having a brain cramp this morning.
NFHS rule 5-11EXCEPTION(a)...includes displaced contacts. You stop the game but don't charge the player's team with a TO.

Note that "displaced shoes" are nowhere to be found in that exception.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 09:19am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
NFHS rule 5-11EXCEPTION(a)...includes displaced contacts. You stop the game but don't charge the player's team with a TO.
I've done both this year, first time for each. Weird year.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I've done both this year, first time for each. Weird year.
Blame el Niņo.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
NFHS rule 5-11EXCEPTION(a)...includes displaced contacts. You stop the game but don't charge the player's team with a TO.

Note that "displaced shoes" are nowhere to be found in that exception.

Thank you! Thanks to Snaqwells and grunewar as well. My initial reaction was that play should have been stopped for it. I am still studying the books try to look things up before asking, but was stumped this morning.

Last edited by Thumper68; Tue Feb 09, 2010 at 10:10am. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 09:22am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thumper68 View Post
Also what is the rule reference for the eyeglasses. I know that I have read it but am having a brain cramp this morning.

Thanks,
Here's the Rule:

Rule 5 SECTION 11 CHARGED TIME-OUT
ART. 1 . . . A single 60-second time-out charged to a team shall not exceed one minute. A warning signal for the teams to prepare to be ready to resume play is sounded with 15 seconds remaining. Such a time-out shall not be reduced in length unless both teams are ready to play before the time-out is over.
ART. 2 . . . A single 30-second charged time-out shall not exceed 30 seconds.
A warning signal for teams to prepare to be ready to resume play is sounded with 15 seconds remaining. No on-court entertainment should occur during this time.
ART. 3 . . . Only one 60-second time-out is charged (or one 30-second timeout, if that is the only type of time-out remaining) in 5-8-4 regardless of the amount of time consumed when no correction is made.
EXCEPTION: No time-out is charged:
a. If, in 5-8-3, the player’s request results from displaced eyeglasses or lens.
b. If, in 5-8-4, the error or mistake is prevented or rectified.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mechanics When Player Loses Shoe Blue37 Basketball 8 Fri Jan 30, 2009 10:33am
Player struck by baseball loses lawsuit SRW Softball 6 Tue Apr 11, 2006 01:21pm
Coach loses cool..what would you do? Ref_in_Rehab Basketball 51 Sun Feb 08, 2004 10:37am
Player loses stick thecommish Hockey 1 Fri Nov 08, 2002 10:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1