The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 12:48am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I disagree. The touching itself was legal. The position of the player was not. The game clock should start and stop very quickly.
nah
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 12:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
nah
I agree (if he's disagreeing with Nevada).

The violation first is that he was out of bounds. The touching of the ball would happen at the same time while he's still out of bounds. I wouldn't take any time off the clock. Would be a good question to bring up with my buddies when we go out after our games tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 01:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
I agree (if he's disagreeing with Nevada).

The violation first is that he was out of bounds. The touching of the ball would happen at the same time while he's still out of bounds. I wouldn't take any time off the clock. Would be a good question to bring up with my buddies when we go out after our games tomorrow.
For the record, I've changed my mind on this since this previous thread:
5-9-4 unannounced change

I now agree with Snaqwells point in post #9. If the touch is legal and reverses the AP arrow, then it must be legal for the clock starting as well. We need to be consistent.

What made me change my mind was the NFHS publishing this interpretation about a month after that thread:

2007-08 NFHS Basketball Interpretations:

SITUATION 3: During an alternating-possession throw-in for Team A, thrower A1 passes the ball directly on the court where it contacts (a) A2 or (b) B2, while he/she is standing on a boundary line. RULING: Out-of-bounds violation on (a) A2; (b) B2. The player was touched by the ball while out of bounds, thereby ending the throw-in. The alternating-possession arrow is reversed and pointed toward Team B's basket when the throw-in ends (when A2/B2 is touched by the ball). A throw-in is awarded at a spot nearest the out-of-bounds violation for (a) Team B; (b) Team A. (4-42-5; 6-4-4; 9-2-2; 9-3-2)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inbound Pass Goes in Basket rgncjn Basketball 6 Mon Nov 05, 2007 09:55pm
Inbound pass deflection goes OOB - time? eyezen Basketball 10 Sun Feb 04, 2007 12:12am
Shot from out of bounds on inbound pass hooper Basketball 15 Thu Feb 23, 2006 09:28pm
Time-out on inbound pass? hooper Basketball 5 Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:33pm
Inbound pass kltuck Basketball 34 Mon Nov 08, 2004 02:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1