The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Most common mistake by refs (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56976-most-common-mistake-refs.html)

KJUmp Mon Feb 08, 2010 05:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 659464)
I do not agree with that Jeff. As I say in camps I work as a clinician for our state I am often witnessing the younger and inexperienced officials they call a lot of things (not the camps you and I are going to for college). And when I work a varsity game in front of a lesser experienced officials they call a lot of things that just are not there at all. And they get a lot of crap for it. I see where you are going with this and I do agree that as a whole we could blow the whistle more, but I think there are officials that go through stages. And usually one of the stages is to not call anything for fear of criticism. And the other stage is to call everything once they realize they will get yelled at. Then finally the veteran learns that you have to have an equal balance and call what is needed, not just blow the whistle just to blow the whistle.

Peace

2 years in, and I feel I'm still trying to get a "feel" and a recognition for that balance. It's probably the single biggest thing I take notice of when I watch good experienced refs work the V game that follows my JV.
I'm slowly getting better in a lot of areas....still have a long way to go in that one.

Adam Mon Feb 08, 2010 06:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 659672)
2 years in, and I feel I'm still trying to get a "feel" and a recognition for that balance. It's probably the single biggest thing I take notice of when I watch good experienced refs work the V game that follows my JV.
I'm slowly getting better in a lot of areas....still have a long way to go in that one.