The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 12:11am
CK CK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 87
Bone head play's revisited

SHOOTING AT THE WRONG BASKET



AN ATTEMPT AT THE WRONG BASKET IS NEVER A TRY

MISSES EVERYTHING
Attempt before dribble and caught before hitting court TRAVELLING

Attempt before dribble hits court and caught LEGAL (Start of a dribble)

Attempt before dribble hits court and caught, then dribbles DOUBLE DRIBBLE


HITS BACKBOARD

Starts a dribble and stops, then hits backboard on erroneous try. DOUBLE DRIBBLE (Wrong Basket is part of the dribble)

*No Dribble, hits backboard(start of dribble) then catch LEGAL

*No Dribble, hits Backboard(start of dribble) then the floor, then catch LEGAL

*Cannot start another dribble.


FOUL AT WRONG BASKET
1. Since the "shooter" was not at her team's basket, there was no try, and the foul is thus a common foul.

2. Since it was a common foul, the ball was dead when the player was fouled -- no shot, so no points and no free throws.

3. The fouled team should get the ball for a throw-in, or if in the bonus or double bonus; 1 and 1, or 2



4.41.2 SITUATION: A1 becomes confused and throws the ball at the wrong
basket. A1 is fouled by B1 and the ball goes into the basket. Is this a successful
basket? If A1 missed, would A1 be awarded two free throws for the foul by B1?
RULING: No goal. The ball became dead when the foul occurred. When a player
throws at the opponent’s basket, it is not a try. If the team is in the bonus when
B1 fouled A1, A1 is given either a one-and-one attempt or two free throws at
Team A’s basket. If Team A was not in the bonus, then the ball is awarded to Team
A for a throw-in at the out-of-bounds spot nearest the foul. (7-5-4a)


PLEASE CORRECT If Incorrect

CK
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 05:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by CK View Post
MISSES EVERYTHING
Attempt before dribble and caught before hitting court TRAVELLING

HITS BACKBOARD

Starts a dribble and stops, then hits backboard on erroneous try. DOUBLE DRIBBLE (Wrong Basket is part of the dribble)


PLEASE CORRECT If Incorrect

CK
You have a very solid understanding of these situations.

I would only make two comments.

In the first situation, the NFHS ruling used to be "illegal dribble," but it was changed in the Case Book a couple of years ago to "traveling." Many here believe that was a poor change as the traveling rule specifies "while holding the ball."

In the second situation, note that there is a difference between the ball striking the backboard or the basket. The rule (4-4-5) only mentions the ball striking the backboard, not the basket. So technically, you should write "(Wrong backboard is part of the dribble)."

PS Illegal dribble is the proper term for what is commonly called a double dribble.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Wed Feb 03, 2010 at 09:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 07:43am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,863
Who's Going to Protect Travelers ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Illegal dribble is the proper team for what is commonly called a double dribble.
No more double dribble in basketball. That's like when the Catholic Church said that Saint Christopher is no longer a saint.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
No more double dribble in basketball. That's like when the Catholic Church said that Saint Christopher is no longer a saint.
No more double dribble - it's now just going to be called a drool!
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tail Bone Pads Nyjets Football 5 Fri Sep 08, 2006 09:59pm
Bone Head Call bigsig Softball 11 Fri Aug 04, 2006 02:04am
collar bone protection cards2323 Baseball 8 Mon Oct 10, 2005 06:48pm
Official Head-to-Head Rule superhornet Softball 10 Sat Aug 06, 2005 10:50am
Bone to pick with moderators ChuckElias Basketball 14 Thu Jan 15, 2004 06:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1