The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 11:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 846
Illegal Screen or Not? I'm Thinking Yes...

A1 is driving down the lane. A2 wants to prevent help defense from coming over, and "boxes out" the girl who's guarding her so that she can't help on defense.

I don't think 4-40-6 applies here, hence I can't think of any reason this isn't an illegal screen.

What say you?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 11:41pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,965
You haven't provided enough information. Was there contact? Did A2 get to each particular spot on the floor before the defender?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 11:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 846
A2 was backing B2 away from the lane.

Yes there was contact, think of it as A2 boxing B2 away from the lane, but A1 hadn't even shot the ball yet.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 12:15am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
If contact is made while A2 is moving in this particular play, it's a foul. If she moves and gets to the spot first, it's nothing.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 03:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If contact is made while A2 is moving in this particular play, it's a foul. If she moves and gets to the spot first, it's nothing.
...while also accounting for time and distance that may be required in getting to the spot due to the speed of B2.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 07:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
A2 was backing B2 away from the lane.

Yes there was contact, think of it as A2 boxing B2 away from the lane, but A1 hadn't even shot the ball yet.
You're using 'boxing out' as if you were a coach. Any contact that moves a player off her spot is a foul. If there was team control at the time of the foul, it's a team control foul (when committed by a member of that team); otherwise, it's a common foul.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
A2 was backing B2 away from the lane.

Yes there was contact, think of it as A2 boxing B2 away from the lane, but A1 hadn't even shot the ball yet.
And was B2 trying to make a defensive play on A1?

You're right that the screening rules apply -- just make sure the criteria for a foul are met.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
A2 was backing B2 away from the lane.

Yes there was contact, think of it as A2 boxing B2 away from the lane, but A1 hadn't even shot the ball yet.
"Boxing out" as you describe it is displacement. Displacement is a foul whether it's on a rebound or not. B2 has a right to his/her spot on the floor. I've got a foul on A2, team control - push or block take your pick.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 147
Send a message via ICQ to mcdanrd Send a message via AIM to mcdanrd Send a message via Yahoo to mcdanrd
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Killian View Post
"Boxing out" as you describe it is displacement. Displacement is a foul whether it's on a rebound or not. B2 has a right to his/her spot on the floor. I've got a foul on A2, team control - push or block take your pick.
However, A2 also has a right to his/her spot on the floor. If it's a legal "box out" with no displacement, I've got nothing. It always amazes me when I call a foul on a player for displacement on a "box out" that the coach will complain and say "he/she was just boxing out."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Killian View Post
"Boxing out" as you describe it is displacement. Displacement is a foul whether it's on a rebound or not. B2 has a right to his/her spot on the floor. I've got a foul on A2, team control - push or block take your pick.
I agree. If A2 displaces B2 as described, it's a foul.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 09:49am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
"Boxing out" falls under screening rules, every time. That's what it is. There are no "box out" rules; well, maybe in hockey, but that's another thread.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcdanrd View Post
However, A2 also has a right to his/her spot on the floor. If it's a legal "box out" with no displacement, I've got nothing. It always amazes me when I call a foul on a player for displacement on a "box out" that the coach will complain and say "he/she was just boxing out."
True but the OP says A2 was backing B2 away from the lane, so in this case it's pretty clear there was displacement.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 10:19am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
A2 was backing B2 away from the lane.

Yes there was contact, think of it as A2 boxing B2 away from the lane, but A1 hadn't even shot the ball yet.
Do you mean A2 was displacing B2?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Not necessarily

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Killian View Post
True but the OP says A2 was backing B2 away from the lane, so in this case it's pretty clear there was displacement.
Sometimes when backing out or boxing out a player, the other player gives ground without really any contact. This is usually at the lower skill levels, but it still happens. If the contact causes them to move you have a foul, but if the player gives ground on his/her own do to incidental contact then you have nothing. The player should plant his/her feet and make the contact displace them. Then you have a foul!
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 12:35pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
Sometimes when backing out or boxing out a player, the other player gives ground without really any contact. This is usually at the lower skill levels, but it still happens. If the contact causes them to move you have a foul, but if the player gives ground on his/her own do to incidental contact then you have nothing. The player should plant his/her feet and make the contact displace them. Then you have a foul!
Stepping backwards to prevent yourself from falling is not giving ground. I just want to clarify that a player does not need to plant the feet and fall down in order to draw a foul here.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal screen or not? dave30 Basketball 3 Fri Nov 14, 2008 07:31am
illegal screen? hungt Basketball 21 Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:11pm
Illegal screen? fan Basketball 5 Thu Dec 07, 2006 11:49am
Illegal Screen slickrick Basketball 5 Tue Mar 20, 2001 03:25pm
illegal screen kschau Basketball 18 Tue Oct 31, 2000 09:19am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1