![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
...while also accounting for time and distance that may be required in getting to the spot due to the speed of B2.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
You're using 'boxing out' as if you were a coach. Any contact that moves a player off her spot is a foul. If there was team control at the time of the foul, it's a team control foul (when committed by a member of that team); otherwise, it's a common foul.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
You're right that the screening rules apply -- just make sure the criteria for a foul are met. |
|
|||
|
"Boxing out" as you describe it is displacement. Displacement is a foul whether it's on a rebound or not. B2 has a right to his/her spot on the floor. I've got a foul on A2, team control - push or block take your pick.
|
|
|||
|
However, A2 also has a right to his/her spot on the floor. If it's a legal "box out" with no displacement, I've got nothing. It always amazes me when I call a foul on a player for displacement on a "box out" that the coach will complain and say "he/she was just boxing out."
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Not necessarily
Sometimes when backing out or boxing out a player, the other player gives ground without really any contact. This is usually at the lower skill levels, but it still happens. If the contact causes them to move you have a foul, but if the player gives ground on his/her own do to incidental contact then you have nothing. The player should plant his/her feet and make the contact displace them. Then you have a foul!
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
I agree
Quote:
We have to judge advantage/disadvantage. If the defender chooses to move when there is incidental contact, then I've got nothing. I see this more frequently at the lower level where the offensive player moves backwards and the defender moves her feet with them. Very little if any contact. The contact didn't displace the player. The defender chose to move backwards on their own. I didn't mean to imply that they have to plant their feet to get the foul, just that if they are moving backward it now becomes a judgement call whether the contact was incidental or not. But that's what we get paid for.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
I agree. If A2 displaces B2 as described, it's a foul.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup! |
|
|||
|
Do you mean A2 was displacing B2?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Illegal screen or not? | dave30 | Basketball | 3 | Fri Nov 14, 2008 07:31am |
| illegal screen? | hungt | Basketball | 21 | Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:11pm |
| Illegal screen? | fan | Basketball | 5 | Thu Dec 07, 2006 11:49am |
| Illegal Screen | slickrick | Basketball | 5 | Tue Mar 20, 2001 03:25pm |
| illegal screen | kschau | Basketball | 18 | Tue Oct 31, 2000 09:19am |