The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 02:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 87
Point of Interruption

I find I question if I apply the two of these correctly sometimes. Is there a simple way to keep POI and the AP straight. I understand that sometime the AP is the POI in cases where no team control exists.

Sit: A1 on fast break. B1 comes from behind and bats ball out of bounds. Coach goes nuts and has been, So I wack him prior to giving A ball for a throw in on the endline. Shoot two at other end and give A1 there throw in on endline. Did I apply the rule correctly? Is there a live ball dead ball way of looking at POI in general.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 02:36pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
If we're talking NFHS, this is not a POI situation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 02:36pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Were you officiating with NCAA rules or High school rules? If high school, a single T is never POI. It's always enforced with a throwin for the non-offending team.

To answer your question: POI is always, essentially, whatever you were doing or about to do. In the case of an OOB violation followed by a double foul, you'll simply administer the throwin you would have done without the double foul. Or free throw. Or, if there was team control, go to that.

There aren't many situations where POI will be the arrow.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 02:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If we're talking NFHS, this is not a POI situation.

Yes NF. So your saying it should have been two shots and the ball at half court for B? Would it have changed things if I wack him after A1 has ball on the endline for the throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by howie719 View Post
Sit: A1 on fast break. B1 comes from behind and bats ball out of bounds. Coach goes nuts and has been, So I wack him prior to giving A ball for a throw in on the endline. Shoot two at other end and give A1 there throw in on endline. Did I apply the rule correctly?
Under FED, you applied the rule INcorrectly. Under FED, there's no POI for false double fouls -- apply the penalties in the order the fouls were committed.

Quote:
Is there a live ball dead ball way of looking at POI in general.
There's no "live ball / dead ball" way, but POI is used only on double fouls, simultaneous fouls, CEs and IWs (I think there might be one more, but I don't think it ever really happens?).

We've "always" used it on IWs and CEs, so those aren't really an issue. And, there's rarely a simultaneous foul. So, that leaves only double fouls. That's not hard to remember.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 87
Got it. Anytime there is a single technical foul as in my situation. Two shots and the ball at half court for the non affending team.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 02:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by howie719 View Post
Yes NF. So your saying it should have been two shots and the ball at half court for B? Would it have changed things if I wack him after A1 has ball on the endline for the throw in.
No, it doesn't change it. A single tech is always penalized by giving the non-offending team the ball at the division line opposite the table after their free throws are attempted; unless it's at the end of a quarter or followed by another technical foul against the other team (false double foul, in which they are penalized in order.)
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
POI is always, essentially, whatever you were doing or about to do.
So you're saying that it's always, essentially, the point of interruption?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
point of interruption elecref Basketball 23 Fri Oct 07, 2005 03:08pm
point of interruption elecref Basketball 31 Wed Sep 28, 2005 05:18pm
What is point of interruption ? bossref Basketball 13 Thu Dec 12, 2002 03:17pm
"point of interruption" Rhino Basketball 1 Fri Dec 08, 2000 06:11pm
Point of Interruption kspann Basketball 12 Thu Nov 30, 2000 11:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1