The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 12:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
3 seconds...partners disagree...

Ok so I'm pretty sure I have this rule correct but wanted to throw it out there and be sure. If a A player enters the paint and receives the ball right before the three count, he can remain in there as long as he eventually shoots the ball...correct? It becomes 3 seconds when he passes the ball in this scenario? Other side of the story is my partner called it three seconds twice before the A player shot the ball. Then when the same situation happened when I was the lead I didn't call it and caught flack from the other coach. What should I say to that coach?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 12:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
Ok so I'm pretty sure I have this rule correct but wanted to throw it out there and be sure. If a A player enters the paint and receives the ball right before the three count, he can remain in there as long as he eventually shoots the ball...correct? It becomes 3 seconds when he passes the ball in this scenario?
Check the rulebook. There is language about "allowances" for someone who is in the paint for less than three seconds and then receives the ball, if he is making moves to shoot. I don't read that as several seconds, but more like maybe a second or a second and a half at the most. For me, it wouldn't include more than maybe a step, maybe a dribble or two at the most. A dribbling pivot and then shot...

I think the best thing to do is to see how it's done in your area. My experience is that different assignors and rules interpreters have widely different views of how this ought to be called, and you should conform to how it's done in your area.
__________________
It's not who you know, it's whom you know.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 07:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
I had this the other night. A sub for white's big man comes down and camps in the lane. I tell him to move. I get to 3 seconds, and he gets the ball.

If he turns and shoots, we're good. He put the ball on the floor, and I hit the whistle.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 07:45am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,863
2009-10 NFHS Point Of Emphasis ...

3. THREE-SECONDS. When a team is in control of the ball in its frontcourt, a
player of that team may not remain in the lane for three seconds. The lane is
bounded by the end line and the farther edge of the free-throw line – and includes
the lane lines.
A. Team control. In order to understand the administration of the rule, it is
necessary to know when team control exists. Team control exists: during
player control, holding and dribbling inbounds; during a pass between
teammates; during an interrupted dribble. Team control continues until:
the ball is in flight during a try for goal; an opponent secures control; the
ball becomes dead. Team control does not exist during the tapping of a
rebound or when the ball is loose following a try. There is no team control
during a throw-in. The three-second restriction is not in effect when there
Page 67 2009-10 NFHS Basketball Rules
is no team control, and is terminated the instant team control ends.
B. Exception. Allowance is made and the count is momentarily stopped
when a restricted player has the ball and dribbles or makes a move to try
for goal. However, the previous count is resumed if the player does not
continue and try for goal. Some may feel that exception complicates the
rule, but it is necessary in order to balance the offense and defense. The
most obvious misinterpretation of this rule is when the restricted player
has a two-second count when he or she begins the move to try for goal,
but is stopped or the ball is batted loose. The player involved, while in the
lane, attempts to regain possession and instead of continuing the count,
the official erroneously stops it entirely. If the player starts a move to the
basket and the ball is jarred loose, the previous count is resumed and
results in a violation if it reaches three seconds. The purpose of the rule is
circumvented if a violation is not called when this occurs.
C. Screener. Another situation that is occurring more frequently, and which
is often not properly called, is when an offensive player sets a screen in
the lane and remains there for more than three seconds. The responsible
official must make sure that offensive players are not occupying restricted
positions for more than the permitted time. The offensive player gains an
unwarranted advantage if he or she can “camp out” in the lane, either as
a potential shooter or as a screener.
D. Rough post play. When the three-second rule is properly enforced, rough
post play is likely reduced. Post defenders cannot be expected to defend
and deny an opponent in the lane indefinitely. When an offensive post
player “camps out” in the lane, defenders tend to get frustrated and
become more physical. Calling this infraction when it occurs goes a long
way to decreasing rough post play – an area that has been emphasized for
many years.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 07:49am
Go Blue
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 84
I had something similer last night. A girl posts up just inside the three seconds zone, recieves a pass and got triple teamed. Took here about a 2 count to pass it back out. if she left the zone immediately, no wistle. But she took a couple steps slowly to the other side of the zone, so I wistled it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
Ok so I'm pretty sure I have this rule correct but wanted to throw it out there and be sure. If a A player enters the paint and receives the ball right before the three count, he can remain in there as long as he eventually shoots the ball...correct? It becomes 3 seconds when he passes the ball in this scenario? Other side of the story is my partner called it three seconds twice before the A player shot the ball. Then when the same situation happened when I was the lead I didn't call it and caught flack from the other coach. What should I say to that coach?
The count is only suspended if the player with the ball is making a move to the basket to score. So if a player just has the ball, the count continues. But if he/she is in the act of making a move the goal and continues that effort through to a try then you have nothing.

Just holding (or dribbling if not in the action of attempting to score) the ball in the lane is not an exception. That's what it sounds like you are saying. If that's what was happening your partner was right.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
Ok so I'm pretty sure I have this rule correct but wanted to throw it out there and be sure. If a A player enters the paint and receives the ball right before the three count, he can remain in there as long as he eventually shoots the ball...correct? It becomes 3 seconds when he passes the ball in this scenario? Other side of the story is my partner called it three seconds twice before the A player shot the ball. Then when the same situation happened when I was the lead I didn't call it and caught flack from the other coach. What should I say to that coach?
Sounds like you both may be wrong. I suggest next time you aren't on the same page with your partner regarding an issue such like this, get together and discuss at the next possible break. Come to an understanding. The worst thing you can do is avoid talking about it and each continue to call it oppositely. This will make for a long, frustrating, painful night for everyone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Help" From Partners nine01c Basketball 15 Thu Dec 23, 2004 12:59pm
Partners Junker Basketball 1 Mon Dec 20, 2004 02:03pm
22 often misunderstood rules... agree or disagree rotationslim Basketball 30 Fri Mar 07, 2003 06:33pm
Concerning Partners whiskers_ump Softball 5 Wed Jul 25, 2001 06:03pm
Partners Bandit Softball 6 Sat Mar 31, 2001 12:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1