The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 16, 2010, 03:55pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by smbbcoach99 View Post
New situation.
Discussion came up in a game today.

A1 dribbles to mid line, with one foot in front court, one in back and ball dribbles in front court. HE stops dribble. And pivots back over mid line to bring both feet together. BC?

What if A1 stops the dribble before mid court line. He pivots over teh line (foot, ball, head, shoulder), and the back. BC?
In the first situation, it would not be a violation. Three points in the front court are required for a player dribbling the ball to have front court status. Since only two points crossed, the player still had backcourt status. After the dribble has ended, if the player used the foot in the backcourt as the pivot foot, then no violation.

In the second situation, A1 still has a backcourt status.

4-35 Player location will help clear this up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
confusion on basebaths steveshane67 Softball 11 Wed Jun 03, 2009 04:49pm
Backcourt confusion gibb2k5 Basketball 11 Wed Feb 14, 2007 03:11am
shooting FTS confusion Johnny Ringo Basketball 3 Sat Jan 06, 2007 03:15am
Confusion... Oz Referee Basketball 6 Sun Nov 25, 2001 01:03am
Confusion? Just Curious Softball 3 Fri May 18, 2001 11:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1