The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 05:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTaylor View Post
Once he left the court he became bench personnel and was not eligible to return until time had run off the clock, so he is not a legal substitute. From the OP's description he simply rushed back onto the court - didn't report to the table or wait for anything. IMHO this would make it a bench technical.
Would your opinion change if he'd gone to the table first and then ran onto the court? I don't think the fact that he's not eligible to return at that point is relevant.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Would your opinion change if he'd gone to the table first and then ran onto the court? I don't think the fact that he's not eligible to return at that point is relevant.
Nope, wouldn't change my opinion. If he's not eligible to re-enter, then he's still bench personnel, not a substitute. That said, I have no problem whether the official chooses to assess a bench technical or substitute technical - justification can be made for either position.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup!

Last edited by TimTaylor; Thu Jan 14, 2010 at 05:16pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTaylor View Post
Nope, wouldn't change my opinion. If he's not eligible to re-enter, then he's still bench personnel, not a substitute. That said, I have no problem whether the official chooses to assess a bench technical or substitute technical - justification can be made for either position.
Hmm...interesting. Can see that point of view, though I'm not yet swayed.

Before a throw-in, A1 enters for A2. Upon the ball being placed at the disposal of the thrower, both A2 and A3 head to the table to check in.

A violation occurs before the throw-in ends. Both A2 and A3 immediately run onto the court without being beckoned. Official calls technical fouls on both.

Your position would be that the T on A2 is for bench personnel entering the court without authorization and that the T on A3 is a substitute technical for entering the court without being beckoned?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 05:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 592
A2 and A3 are not equally eligible to be subs and therefore carry different status.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 05:50pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
A2 and A3 are not equally eligible to be subs and therefore carry different status.
Disagree. The rule is the same; they are subs. If they come running in from the table without being beckoned, they get the same penalty. I highly doubt the intent of the rules requires us to split this hair.

The case play already posted makes no mention of whether the sub was immediately eligible or not. Personally, I think it's a mistake to pin this on the coach (the OP), but I wouldn't lose any sleep over it. I think the error is understandable since the official actually heard the coach say "get out there."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 05:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
A2 and A3 are not equally eligible to be subs and therefore carry different status.
So, I'm to take from this statement, that you would charge the coach with one indirect technical foul in my situation?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
So, I'm to take from this statement, that you would charge the coach with one indirect technical foul in my situation?
My response was basically following up on TTaylor's a few posts before, namely the first sentence below:

"If he's not eligible to re-enter, then he's still bench personnel, not a substitute. That said, I have no problem whether the official chooses to assess a bench technical or substitute technical - justification can be made for either position."

However, I agree with his finish, and Snaq's comment (and, I believe, others') about splitting hairs. Not worth it here.

To the letter of the book, however, one would have to realize A2 and A3 aren't the same, and coach would get the indirect whack. (A2 wouldn't be allowed to shoot technical free throws if his team were awarded any after all, would he? )
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 06:12pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
To the letter of the book, however, one would have to realize A2 and A3 aren't the same, and coach would get the indirect whack. (A2 wouldn't be allowed to shoot technical free throws if his team were awarded any after all, would he? )
The T isn't for "eligible subs" entering without being beckoned, it's for "subs". I think the "letter of the book" makes them all equal.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What happened to the T to start the game--NCAA Game thread? w_sohl Basketball 1 Tue Mar 10, 2009 01:32pm
Jordan's 63 pt game - Game 2 of 1st round 1986 Eastern Conference Playoffs Cajun Reff Basketball 15 Fri Mar 07, 2008 09:56am
Twenty technicals in one game - all for delay of game! Mark Padgett Basketball 14 Wed Dec 26, 2007 12:55pm
Next game teams warming up on field during game reccer Softball 6 Mon Jul 16, 2007 03:00pm
Cursed Game: 3 Injuries, 2 ambulance calls, 1 game wadeintothem Softball 3 Mon Oct 16, 2006 04:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1