![]() |
|
|||
So there is never a situation where you wouldn't call a T on a player for removing his/her jersey while you were still in the confines of the playing court?
|
|
|||
Quote:
It's also a T for every assistant coach who ever stands up and yells out a play or a defense and then sits back down. See, there are no shades in basketball officiating...no judgment is ever involved. It's all black and white and written right there for all to see. To not follow every single letter of the rules is to be less of an official... ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Nevada Camp: Black and White With Stripes All Over - Summer 2010 Registrations now being accepted |
|
|||
Quote:
Ah, geez, I said I wasn't going to flame anyone, and it's only the 14th of Jan and you've already got my hair curling out like my finger's in an electrical socket... Quote:
We get to use our best judgment. Since this rule is aimed at sportsmanship and expressions of disgust or hostility, I think it's perfectly reasonable, and not even remotely pussilanimous to judge that the kid is just in a hurry to get to his job, or is simply trying to avoid the locker room problems, or doesn't know that there's a problem, and is just getting on with his life. None of those situations have anything to do with sportsmanship, and the game is over, and everyone is moving on with their lives. Why throw the bus into reverse, strip the gears, run over a couple or twenty fans, and ruin the entire evening for everyone, if the so-called problem (unsportsmanlike behavior) doesn't even exist?
__________________
It's not who you know, it's whom you know. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
-Cal Naughton, Jr. |
|
|||
Quote:
Very well put. In Nevada's defense, (can't believe I said that) the main problem is still the wording of the rule. The posted interp is virtually identical to the OP. It is written black and white. He removes his jersey. A technical foul is awarded. I personally am not gonna say, "I didn't see it." etc. I'm just gonna say, "I'm not calling that because it doesn't make sense." If that gets me in trouble, I'll deal with it. On the other hand, if an official does make this call, when everyone involved learn the rule, which I feel safe in saying most of them don't know, I don't see how they could put much blame on that official for making the call. (but they would anyway)
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Thanks Jurassic for jinxing me.
![]() I'm trail tableside. Lead calls team control foul on Red12. As I get ready to head downcourt to be new Lead table gets my attention and informs me Red12 has 5 fouls. I start my procedure: signal "5" to partners, inform coach (sub is already up and headed towards table with warm-up top on), tell table to start countdown, turn to inform player (he is already on the bench). When I turn back to wave in sub there is a young man standing there with red shorts and a white tank top on. ![]() I, of course, did not T him up. Had him get his warm-up top off the floor and get his jersey out from it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Sat Jan 16, 2010 at 07:47pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Call jurisdiction | rngrck | Basketball | 3 | Sat Jan 12, 2008 11:30am |
Jurisdiction | Sooner01 | Baseball | 10 | Thu Jul 27, 2006 08:42am |
jurisdiction | jimm_ee22 | Basketball | 2 | Fri Dec 09, 2005 03:48pm |
Question: Officials Jurisdiction | ljudge | Football | 7 | Sun Jan 23, 2005 08:24pm |
Jurisdiction of call | kchamp | Softball | 11 | Thu Feb 15, 2001 12:17pm |