The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member

T's and Coaches Actions

I'm in my 3rd year and am totally frustrated and disgusted at how coaches (not all of them) act and react to officials. What the hell is the deal? Has it always been that way or are coaches and fans just becoming too nasty and personal?

Comments... how do I calm my frustrations. We feel we call a pretty good game and we continuously hear the nasties...
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:12pm
Keeper of the HAMMER

Not much you can do about the fans. Coaches are simple, if you take action. If they're getting personal, a quick T will stop it.
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member

It's not personal

I guess I am wondering if it happens to everyone... still learning how much to take.
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
I guess I am wondering if it happens to everyone... still learning how much to take.
I take less and less. Coaches are supposed to show good sportsmanship. It is a rule and needs to be enforced just like traveling, holding etc etc
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:20pm
Keeper of the HAMMER

The occasional, "travel, 3 seconds, double dribble, over the back, foul," etc, is ok IMO. But if he gets personal ("you're horrible") ring him up. No need to warn, IMO.
If he's getting annoying and under your skin with the little stuff, warn him. "Coach, that's enough." If he continues, ring him up. It's your own tolerance level with that little crap, but my advice is this:
If you find you're getting distracted, put a stop to it.
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 03:26pm
This IS My Social Life

Like Pavlov's Dog, Kinda

Quote:
Has it always been that way?
As long as I can remember (back to the mid-70's), yes. Though it does seem to be increasing in beligerence and intensity lately.