|  | 
| 
 | ||||
| Quote: 
 Clearly I'm just having a brain cramp here, which means it's good time to sign off and go to the gym over lunch. | 
| 
 | ||||
| Quote: 
 Since he is airborne, the ball has now gained FC status as well. As soon as he lands in the BC, it's a violation. 
				__________________ Sprinkles are for winners. | 
| 
 | ||||
| 
			
			Rich, the way I read your play, this should be a violation; unless the NCAA has extended the exception to cover all plays in which team control is initially established by an airborne player.
		 
				__________________ Sprinkles are for winners. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 AR217 (1) is this exact play. The ruling says, in part, : Violation ... The exception for the backcourt rules are only applicable for the player who made the initial touch on the ball. So, as described, they kicked it. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			So, Bob are you saying it is a violation?
		 
				__________________ truerookie | 
| 
 | ||||
| 
			
			So the NCAA rule is different.  If the A player was the first to touch, in midair, on the rebound, he could catch with frontcourt status and land in the backcourt. I wish I could see it yet again -- I'm 95% certain, though, it hit players hands and was tipped up into the air before being caught by the A player. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 My mistake. The AR is on a throw-in. Still a violation. Yes, I'd have a violation. I also think it's the "wrong" ruling (that is, I'd like to see the ruling changed). | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| OKlahoma | ronald | Softball | 13 | Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:16am | 
| Texas A&M vs Oklahoma | CK | Basketball | 7 | Sun Feb 01, 2009 01:39pm | 
| Oklahoma @ Oklahoma State Game | GoodwillRef | Basketball | 6 | Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:04am | 
| Oklahoma-LSU game | c it first | Football | 10 | Thu Jan 08, 2004 09:21am | 
| Semi-Pro in Oklahoma | Poosh | Football | 3 | Wed May 14, 2003 02:51pm |