The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 12, 2010, 11:44pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
Hah - what if team B is in the bonus?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Not an issue on team control fouls.

If an official incorrectly started to the other end to line up for free throws, chseagle would sprint onto the court and wrestle him to the ground.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 12:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 359
Sort of the same . . .

but not exactly.

I am fairly certain what the responses will be, but wanted to poll the gallery. Happened to a fellow official tonight . . . not me.

NFHS Rule Set, Varsity Boys: A1 shooting first shot of 1-and-1 and makes the basket. Immediately following the basket (ball has just passed through the net), B2 steps to defend against A1, who was shooting, and commits a pushing foul (aggressive, but not flagrant). Should this be administered as indicated above (by Snaqwells)? Thanks. Specific rules reference too please (NFHS and NCAA).

Official called foul, but ruled Technical (ruled it as dead ball contact). Cleared the lane, shot the 2nd shot, then shot the Technical (same player shot FT). Ball inbounded to Team A at mid-court.

Last edited by bigdogrunnin; Wed Jan 13, 2010 at 12:08am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 12:14am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin View Post
but not exactly.

I am fairly certain what the responses will be, but wanted to poll the gallery. Happened to a fellow official tonight . . . not me.

NFHS Rule Set, Varsity Boys: A1 shooting first shot of 1-and-1 and makes the basket. Immediately following the basket (ball has just passed through the net), B2 steps to defend against A1, who was shooting, and commits a pushing foul (aggressive, but not flagrant). Should this be administered as indicated above (by Snaqwells)? Thanks. Specific rules reference too please (NFHS and NCAA).

Official called foul, but ruled Technical (ruled it as dead ball contact). Cleared the lane, shot the 2nd shot, then shot the Technical (same player shot FT). Ball inbounded to Team A at mid-court.
You say it was not flagrant, so official must have thought it was intentional, or there should have been no foul at all.

Yes, this is the correct administration.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul on Free Throw brainbrian Basketball 11 Thu Dec 10, 2009 03:49pm
Foul on a Free Throw stosh Basketball 17 Sun Nov 15, 2009 04:31pm
Foul During Free Throw MRIGUY Basketball 6 Mon Jan 22, 2007 01:29pm
foul during free throw just another ref Basketball 7 Tue Oct 17, 2006 12:51pm
foul on free throw bigwhistle Basketball 24 Thu Jan 12, 2006 02:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1