The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 05:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
More Info

Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
You need to be a little more specific in order to get an accurate answer.

1. What type of throw-in was this?

2. Did the defender reach across the line BEFORE or AFTER the ball was released?
1.) This was not after a made basket. Just your garden variety throwin for causing the ball to go out-of-bounds.

2.) The defender reached across the boundary plane prior to the release of the ball.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 05:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
1.) This was not after a made basket. Just your garden variety throwin for causing the ball to go out-of-bounds.

2.) The defender reached across the boundary plane prior to the release of the ball.
Then, like tjones said, you have a delay-of-game warning, unless this was the second offense.

If the defender had waited until the ball had been released, then reached over and touched the ball, you would have nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Yorktown Va.
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Upward ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
Then, like tjones said, you have a delay-of-game warning, unless this was the second offense.

If the defender had waited until the ball had been released, then reached over and touched the ball, you would have nothing.
After the release, whether the ball is on the oob side or inbounds side ,no violation right?
Same for throw-in with end line priveleges ?
__________________
Upward ref
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 05:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upward ref View Post
After the release, whether the ball is on the oob side or inbounds side ,no violation right?
Same for throw-in with end line priveleges ?
On any kind of throw in, there is no violation for a reach-over or touch after the ball is released.

UNLESS

It's an endline throw in after a made basket, and the thrower is passing the ball to a teammate who is also out of bounds. This is an automatic T. No warning required.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 05:58pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
On any kind of throw in, there is no violation for a reach-over or touch after the ball is released.

UNLESS

It's an endline throw in after a made basket, and the thrower is passing the ball to a teammate who is also out of bounds. This is an automatic T. No warning required.
Basically, if the ball has been released on a throw-in pass, the restrictions are no longer in place. If it has not (and this includes being passed between OOB teammates during an end line throwin), then all restrictions remain in place for the defense.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 06:05pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
Then, like tjones said, you have a delay-of-game warning, unless this was the second offense.
OK - let's get ultra-technical (no pun intended). It's still a DOG warning, except the second one results in a technical. Remember, if a defender reaches across and touches the ball before release, it's both a DOG warning and a technical. The reason this is the case is because if on the first time there's a technical for touching, it also counts as the first DOG warning so if there's just a subsequent reach across without touching, you get your second DOG warning and a T.

I hope that was clear. I just mean that the reaching that results in a technical for touching also counts as a DOG warning.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 06:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
OK - let's get ultra-technical (no pun intended). It's still a DOG warning, except the second one results in a technical. Remember, if a defender reaches across and touches the ball before release, it's both a DOG warning and a technical. The reason this is the case is because if on the first time there's a technical for touching, it also counts as the first DOG warning so if there's just a subsequent reach across without touching, you get your second DOG warning and a T.

I hope that was clear. I just mean that the reaching that results in a technical for touching also counts as a DOG warning.
Very good...makes sense.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 06:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 478
To quote Gilda Radner

Never mind. Sorry Snaqs, Mark explained it in a way that finally sunk in.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
2.) The defender reached across the boundary plane prior to the release of the ball.
I think that's your answer. Violation of the throw-in plane. Since the violation occurs before the touching of the ball, no technical and issue a delay of game warning.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 05:35pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
I think that's your answer. Violation of the throw-in plane. Since the violation occurs before the touching of the ball, no technical and issue a delay of game warning.
Right answer, wrong reasoning.
There's no technical foul because the ball was released before the defense touched it.
If, however, the defender reaches across and you cannot blow your whistle in time to prevent him from hitting the ball as its held by the thrower, it is a T even the first time. There's a case play (dang I hate leaving my book at work.)
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 05:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Right answer, wrong reasoning.
Huh?

How is this:

Quote:
Since the violation occurs before the touching of the ball, no technical and issue a delay of game warning.
Different reasoning than this:

Quote:
There's no technical foul because the ball was released before the defense touched it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 06:18pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
I think that's your answer. Violation of the throw-in plane. Since the violation occurs before the touching of the ball, no technical and issue a delay of game warning.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Right answer, wrong reasoning.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
Huh?
I wasn't clear, so I've highlighted the incorrect reasoning above.

This is the one play where you can ignore the fact that the ball was touched and simply issue a DOG warning. But, you're not really ignoring it, because it's not against the rules.

Otherwise, as I explained in my post, you can't ignore the technical just because a violation happened before it. If you don't blow your whistle before the defense touches the ball, you have to call the T. The reasoning rufus gave would lead one to believe the following scenario should result in only a DOG warning:

A1 with ball OOB for a throw-in.
B1 reaches across and swings his arms. Official tells him to knock it off. B1 then slaps the ball.

This is a T, regardless of whether a warning has been issued, and a warning is also issued if it has not been already.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 06:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 478
I understand where you're going and appreciate the clarification. Would the fact that, in my post, I've already blown the ball dead before there is contact with the ball not have an impact on whether or not I call a T? In other words:
  1. A1 has the ball to throw in (live ball)
  2. B1 reached through the throw in plane (live ball)
  3. I blow the whistle for the DOG (dead ball)
  4. B1 contacts the ball while A1 still is holding it (dead ball)

The example you provided almost fits mine above, but rather than saying knock it off I'd blow it dead and issue a DOG. If I didn't blow it dead due to the violation then yes, I agree you have to call the T there.

Not trying to argue, just trying to get this right. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 06:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
I understand where you're going and appreciate the clarification. Would the fact that, in my post, I've already blown the ball dead before there is contact with the ball not have an impact on whether or not I call a T? In other words:
  1. A1 has the ball to throw in (live ball)
  2. B1 reached through the throw in plane (live ball)
  3. I blow the whistle for the DOG (dead ball)
  4. B1 contacts the ball while A1 still is holding it (dead ball)

The example you provided almost fits mine above, but rather than saying knock it off I'd blow it dead and issue a DOG. If I didn't blow it dead due to the violation then yes, I agree you have to call the T there.

Not trying to argue, just trying to get this right. Thanks.
Right on all counts.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 12, 2010, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
I understand where you're going and appreciate the clarification. Would the fact that, in my post, I've already blown the ball dead before there is contact with the ball not have an impact on whether or not I call a T? In other words:
  1. A1 has the ball to throw in (live ball)
  2. B1 reached through the throw in plane (live ball)
  3. I blow the whistle for the DOG (dead ball)
  4. B1 contacts the ball while A1 still is holding it (dead ball)

The example you provided almost fits mine above, but rather than saying knock it off I'd blow it dead and issue a DOG. If I didn't blow it dead due to the violation then yes, I agree you have to call the T there.

Not trying to argue, just trying to get this right. Thanks.
If it's all the same action ("reach-through-and-touch-the-held-ball-all-in-one-motion") then it's a T, no matter how quick your whistle.

If it's separate acts ("reach through and then make another stab at and touch the ball") then it's a DOG violation (the first time), no matter how slow the whistle.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Right Call or Wrong Call Johnny Ringo Football 24 Thu Oct 15, 2009 06:19pm
When the obvious call isn't the right call Don Mueller Baseball 28 Mon Aug 20, 2007 01:46am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1