![]() |
|
|
|||
Yes, however....
Quote:
And, for the record, I don't like the interpretation either. It is contrary to logic, in my opinion. However, I do believe this is what the rules committee wants even though the rule book is written contrary to the interp.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
I can buy that
Quote:
My main point is this, when an official interpretation comes out after the rulebooks are pubished, we don't have the luxury to ignore it just because it doesn't agree with the rule book. The official interp takes precedence, IMHO, over the rule book.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
I can agree with you on #2, but #1 is up to interpretation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
||||
I'm not sure how, to be honest.
The rule says a team must be the last to touch the ball "before" it goes into the back court and the first to touch it "after" it goes into the back court. You have three events, really. 1. Ball is touched before it goes into the BC. 2. Ball goes into the BC. 3. Ball is touched after it goes into the BC. How is it possible for all of these events to be wrapped into one, with A1 catching the ball in the BC. Aside from that, the logic of this ruling leads to other calls that go against the rule. A1 dribbling with BC status near the division line. B1 guarding with FC status, bats the ball (giving it FC status with continued team control) where it hits A1's knee. By the logic of the ruling we're discussing, this is a BC violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
The ball batted in the air across the division line from frontcourt to backcourt does not have backcourt status while it is in the air. Similar to the ball being batting in the air across an endline/sideline--when does the ball achieve OOB status? I'm sure this has been debated here before.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Tue Jan 05, 2010 at 11:36am. |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Ball had frontcourt status until A1 touched it, so A1 caused the ball to go into the backcourt.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
||||
Quote:
And if the rule said it was illegal to cause the ball to go into the backcourt, you'd be correct. But it doesn't.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
-Josh |
|
|||
Part of the confusion comes from the concept of causing the ball to have BC status. This concept appears in 9-9-2 but is absent from 9-9-1. Importing it into 9-9-1 seems to be the root of the (erroneous) interp.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
If A1 is standing in the Backcourt, A1 has backcourt status.
If the Ball has FC status, as soon as it hits A1 - the ball now has backcourt status. It does not have FC status for 0.01 secs and then BC status. The rule states - the last to touch in FC. Since A1 has BC status, how can they have been deemed to touch it in FC? The Last player to touch the ball in the FC was B1 The interp is interesting in the wording.. as it states - "caused the ball to have BC status"; This is not the same as last to touch in FC. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Backcourt violation rule change? (over and back) | HL Clippenchain | Basketball | 24 | Thu Jan 24, 2008 01:27pm |
Backcourt violation? | mplagrow | Basketball | 3 | Sat Jan 25, 2003 05:08pm |
Backcourt Violation? | Sleeper | Basketball | 10 | Mon Dec 09, 2002 04:06pm |
Backcourt violation?? | glind | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 08, 2001 09:43am |