The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Scorer's Error

A1 hits a 3 at the buzzer to put his team up by 1 point. Officials check with the table , get the OK, and then head to the lockerroom. They are then notified that the scoreboard was wrong. Its actually a tie game. The book was right but the scoreboard was wrong.

Now what?

2.11.10 B says that a score can be corrected any time prior to the final score being approved.

Does the act of leaving the visual confines of the floor "approve" the final score?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 04:08pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Does the act of leaving the visual confines of the floor "approve" the final score?
See when the officials' jurisdiction ends, per rule.

Also, however, note which scoring mechanism is official. It seems to me that the officials have walked to the locker room during the brief intermission prior to OT.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,055
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 04:31pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
A1 hits a 3 at the buzzer to put his team up by 1 point. Officials check with the table , get the OK, and then head to the lockerroom. They are then notified that the scoreboard was wrong. Its actually a tie game. The book was right but the scoreboard was wrong.

Now what?

2.11.10 B says that a score can be corrected any time prior to the final score being approved.

Does the act of leaving the visual confines of the floor "approve" the final score?
If the book was right and the score was tied, the officials come back out and do the overtime.

Case book play 2.11.10B is completely irrelevant. There was NO bookkeeping error and there is NO reason to correct the score as it was correct.

The scoreboard is not official. The book is.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Sun Jan 03, 2010 at 04:34pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 04:58pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 20,562
Only Time, Ever ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Note which scoring mechanism is official. It seems to me that the officials have walked to the locker room during the brief intermission prior to OT.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
If the book was right and the score was tied, the officials come back out and do the overtime. The scoreboard is not official. The book is.
Would this situation be the only time, ever, that officials are to come back out onto the court after leaving the visual confines of the court at the "end" of a game?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 05:07pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
The issue is moot because A1's shot came after the buzzer.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 05:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
A1 hits a 3 at the buzzer to put his team up by 1 point. Officials check with the table , get the OK, and then head to the lockerroom. They are then notified that the scoreboard was wrong. Its actually a tie game. The book was right but the scoreboard was wrong.

Now what?

2.11.10 B says that a score can be corrected any time prior to the final score being approved.

Does the act of leaving the visual confines of the floor "approve" the final score?
Common sense would tell me that since the book is official and the scoreboard is not, it would have to continue into OT. If the opposite were to happen (tied on the board, but the book has one team ahead by a point) then game is over. This is what I would've done, not saying it is correct. Rule book is not in front of me, but in the car.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 05:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 719
Did this happen is SE Washington state?

How could that be?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 06:56pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Would this situation be the only time, ever, that officials are to come back out onto the court after leaving the visual confines of the court at the "end" of a game?
I think the point is it was not the end.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 07:04pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 20,562
“Every end is a new beginning” (Proverb)

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I think the point is it was not the end.
Thus, the quotes in my post.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 07:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by icallfouls View Post
Did this happen is SE Washington state?

How could that be?
When I'm doing scoreboard/timer, I'm continually talking with the official book. I can't help the fact that the person doing book may not be doing their job correctly. due to their friends being there talking to them or distracting them, or cell phone glued in hand.

In this case, it sounds like neither one was communicating with one another.

Last edited by chseagle; Sun Jan 03, 2010 at 07:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 08:13pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
When I'm doing scoreboard/timer, I'm continually talking with the official book. I can't help the fact that the person doing book may not be doing their job correctly. due to their friends being there talking to them or distracting them, or cell phone glued in hand.

In this case, it sounds like neither one was communicating with one another.
yeah, because it certainly couldn't be the scoreboard operator's fault.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 08:31pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,386
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
yeah, because it certainly couldn't be the scoreboard operator's fault.
You mean the 'continually talking' could be a distraction?
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 08:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
When I'm doing scoreboard/timer, I'm continually talking with the official book. I can't help the fact that the person doing book may not be doing their job correctly. due to their friends being there talking to them or distracting them, or cell phone glued in hand.

In this case, it sounds like neither one was communicating with one another.
Attending one of your games is on my bucket list.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
You mean the 'continually talking' could be a distraction?
When I was meaning continually talking with the official scorer, it has to do with the running score, player fouls, & team fouls. Not distracting them by talking about the latest fashion trends, who's seeing who, etc.

Yes, continually talking can be considered a distraction especially if it's not related to the game.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elevated Scorer's Table gostars Basketball 8 Fri Dec 03, 2004 04:21pm
Are all scorer's errors... jbduke Basketball 5 Sun Feb 08, 2004 08:58pm
Scorer's Attire? volleyballrocks Basketball 21 Fri Jan 31, 2003 11:23am
Scorer's signal coach mb Basketball 2 Sun Mar 03, 2002 01:53pm
scorer's keeping track of Delay of game warnings? Jerry Blum Basketball 5 Fri Jan 18, 2002 11:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1