Quote:
Originally posted by eroe39
Ok, I apologize, I assumed when I wrote my original comment that the pro and college and high school rule was the same regarding this. I read the college rule and it seems to be the same although I am not sure as the language is confusing to me. It says "A player shall not contact an opponent with his or her hand unless such contact is only with the opponent's hand while it is on the ball and is incidetnal to an attempt to play the ball." A guess that means that if you are playing the ball it is OK but if you are not playing the ball it is not OK but I would think you are nearly always playing the ball if you hit someone's hand while it is on the ball. I could be wrong, that's just my interpretation of the college rule. I do not have a high school rule book to read their wording.
|
Eli,the NCAA rule that is really relevant is different than the one you quoted above.The pertinent rule is NCAA R4-34-2.It states:
"It shall be legal for a defender to ACCIDENTALLY hit the hand of a ball-handler when reaching to block or slap the ball when there is player control with that player's hand in contact with the ball and that player is a (a)dribbler(b)player attempting a try for field goal(c)player holding the ball".
That's a much clearer interpretation than the one you used.The high school rule basically uses the same language and concept-i.e.accidental contact on the hand is not a foul while deliberate contact can possibly be called a foul.It is up to the judgement of the official as to how to call it-accidental vs. deliberate.Most officials do call it "accidental" and no foul,but an official who does call a foul on this play because he felt the whack was deliberate is backed up by the rulebook(the same as an official who doesn't call a foul is similarly backed up).The way that you call it in your pro games is the way that it is usually called(and taught) in high school and college games too.BktBallRef was making the point that to state that this is NEVER a foul is incorrect.It CAN be called a foul by the language in the NCAA and FED books.
Btw,I agree with your statement that you are nearly always playing the ball if you hit someone's hand when it's on the ball.Any doubt in my mind makes it tough to call it a deliberate act and a foul.I ain't that good that I can read "intent" in a player on this type of call.
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Aug 16th, 2002 at 07:35 PM]