The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
well, the OP has been requesting it and no one has been saying what reference it is in the book. I didn't see anything in the book saying anything about a lodged ball after a free-throw. Just the fact that a lodged ball after a shot goes to AP.

EDIT: I'll rephrase that to "not clear in black-and-white".
The rule has already been referenced. It's about knowing what has happened and what the rules say.

6-4-3...Alternating-possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when:

d. A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows.


You don't need anything else. What we have is a free throw (the ball is live) coming to rest between the ring and backboard. If this is the last free throw, then no throw-in is to follow.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
The rule has already been referenced. It's about knowing what has happened and what the rules say.

6-4-3...Alternating-possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when:

d. A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows.


You don't need anything else. What we have is a free throw (the ball is live) coming to rest between the ring and backboard. If this is the last free throw, then no throw-in is to follow.
THANKS! I think that makes it very clear.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 02:28pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Never noticed this before. Is this not a contradiction?

6-4-3d: An alternating possession throw-in shall result when a live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows.

9-2-8: The thrown ball shall not become lodged between the backboard and ring or come to rest on the flange before it touches or is touched by another player.

violation.....ball awarded to opponent.......etc. etc.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Seems this is a specific throw-in violation. It does seem to contradict the wording in 6-4-3 which would seem to indicate all live balls that come to rest/get stuck go to A/P.

I can see making this exception, however, as in this case the ball is not passed directly onto the court where it can touch or be touched by a player. Throw-in violation.

Good find. 6-4-3 should probably note the additional exception in 9-2-8.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 03:21pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Probably should be noted in 6-4-3d that there's an exception. I agree 6-4-3 makes it sounds like all live balls that get stuck/come to rest go AP.

The only other thing I would add is 9-2-8 says before it touches or is touched by another player (i.e. before the throw-in has ended). Maybe the Fed's thinking is this is good enough and no exception is needed.

Interesting, good find!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Never noticed this before. Is this not a contradiction?

6-4-3d: An alternating possession throw-in shall result when a live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows.

9-2-8: The thrown ball shall not become lodged between the backboard and ring or come to rest on the flange before it touches or is touched by another player.

violation.....ball awarded to opponent.......etc. etc.
No, it's not a contradiction. 6-4-3 "unless a throw-in follows." 9-2-8 indicates that a throw-in follows.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 03:27pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
bob,

I take that to mean if it gets lodged and a throw-in follows then you proceed to the throw-in... i.e. the second technical foul free throw gets lodged/comes to rest then you go to the throw-in at the division line, not the AP.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
bob,

I take that to mean if it gets lodged and a throw-in follows then you proceed to the throw-in... i.e. the second technical foul free throw gets lodged/comes to rest then you go to the throw-in at the division line, not the AP.
I almost always agree with Bob. This time I'll agree with tjones.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 03:44pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
No, it's not a contradiction. 6-4-3 "unless a throw-in follows." 9-2-8 indicates that a throw-in follows.
A throw-in would not have followed, had the ball not become lodged.

Who are you? What have you done with the real Bob?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 06:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
This all reads very clear to me, so I'm not sure where the confusion comes from.

NFHS 6-4-3d: ... An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when: A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows.

This is pretty straight-forward, especially if you think about it in terms of how you will resume play. It is even clearer if we come at it back to front. When a live ball "wedgies" and we already know play will resume with a free throw (e.g., the first of two free throws wedgies, the shooter is fouled during a try that wedgies), we resume play with the free throw. When a live ball "wedgies" and we already know play will resume with a throw-in (e.g., the second free throw for a technical foul wedgies, a try by an airborne shooter who commits a player control foul wedgies), we resume play with the throw-in. Otherwise, we resume play with an AP throw-in.

NFHS 9-2-8: The thrown ball shall not become lodged between the backboard and ring or come to rest on the flange before it touches or is touched by another player.
PENALTY: (Section 2) The ball becomes dead when the violation ... occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot.

This rule and penalty apply specifically to committing a throw-in violation. How do we resume play after a throw-in violation? With a throw-in. And we covered that above. However, there appear to be some who haven't yet learned not to argue with Bob. Their thinking seems to be that the wedgie itself is the throw-in violation and that it had not been determined prior to the wedgie that a throw-in would follow.

How do we resolve this rule, considered from this viewpoint, with the preceding one?


NOTE: Any rules statement is made on the assumption that no infraction is involved unless mentioned or implied. If such infraction occurs, the rule governing it is followed. For example, a game or extra period will not start with a jump ball if a foul occurs before the ball becomes live.

Simple, we don't resolve them. When a throw-in violation is involved, its rule is followed instead.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming

Last edited by Back In The Saddle; Wed Dec 23, 2009 at 06:25pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 06:33pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
When a live ball "wedgies" and we already know play will resume with a free throw (e.g., the first of two free throws wedgies, the shooter is fouled during a try that wedgies), we resume play with the free throw. When a live ball "wedgies" and we already know play will resume with a throw-in (e.g., the second free throw for a technical foul wedgies, a try by an airborne shooter who commits a player control foul wedgies), we resume play with the throw-in. Otherwise, we resume play with an AP throw-in.
I can't believe it took 18 posts on this thread before someone used the term "wedgie".
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 06:50pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
This all reads very clear to me, so I'm not sure where the confusion comes from.

NFHS 6-4-3d: ... An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when: A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows.
The confusion, if you want to call it that, comes from the fact that the above statement alone is not true. It seems that it would be simple enough to note the exception.


Quote:
NOTE: Any rules statement is made on the assumption that no infraction is involved unless mentioned or implied. If such infraction occurs, the rule governing it is followed. [/i]
This is true, up to a point. If, after the ball lodges, A1 punches B1, it would be a technical foul and we would enforce that rule. That is obviously a separate infraction.

Something else happened.


But, in the case at hand, what happens in the rule statement itself in the one situation is the infraction. This is a big difference, in my opinion.

An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when: A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows.

Nothing else happened. A free throw or throw-in was not to follow. But an AP throw-in is still not the result.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove

Last edited by just another ref; Wed Dec 23, 2009 at 06:54pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball lodged. Rita C Basketball 30 Sun Nov 22, 2009 06:17am
Lodged ball? btaylor64 Basketball 51 Thu Dec 07, 2006 01:35pm
Lodged Ball mrm21711 Baseball 15 Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:35am
"lodged" ball blueump Baseball 6 Fri May 27, 2005 05:12pm
Lodged ball. JRutledge Basketball 38 Thu Jul 18, 2002 06:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1