The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
You have answered you own question.
6.4.3d says "unless a free throw or throw-in FOLLOWS." The OP situation is following a free-throw, not being followed by a free throw.

When the free-throw is at the disposal of the shooter, that ball is live (6.1.2b) just as it would be any other shot attempt. While it doesn't say in black-and-white, I would think this is an AP arrow situation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
While it doesn't say in black-and-white
Actually, it does say in black-and-white.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Actually, it does say in black-and-white.
well, the OP has been requesting it and no one has been saying what reference it is in the book. I didn't see anything in the book saying anything about a lodged ball after a free-throw. Just the fact that a lodged ball after a shot goes to AP.

EDIT: I'll rephrase that to "not clear in black-and-white".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
well, the OP has been requesting it and no one has been saying what reference it is in the book. I didn't see anything in the book saying anything about a lodged ball after a free-throw. Just the fact that a lodged ball after a shot goes to AP.

EDIT: I'll rephrase that to "not clear in black-and-white".
The rule has already been referenced. It's about knowing what has happened and what the rules say.

6-4-3...Alternating-possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when:

d. A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows.


You don't need anything else. What we have is a free throw (the ball is live) coming to rest between the ring and backboard. If this is the last free throw, then no throw-in is to follow.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
The rule has already been referenced. It's about knowing what has happened and what the rules say.

6-4-3...Alternating-possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when:

d. A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows.


You don't need anything else. What we have is a free throw (the ball is live) coming to rest between the ring and backboard. If this is the last free throw, then no throw-in is to follow.
THANKS! I think that makes it very clear.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 02:28pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Never noticed this before. Is this not a contradiction?

6-4-3d: An alternating possession throw-in shall result when a live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows.

9-2-8: The thrown ball shall not become lodged between the backboard and ring or come to rest on the flange before it touches or is touched by another player.

violation.....ball awarded to opponent.......etc. etc.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Seems this is a specific throw-in violation. It does seem to contradict the wording in 6-4-3 which would seem to indicate all live balls that come to rest/get stuck go to A/P.

I can see making this exception, however, as in this case the ball is not passed directly onto the court where it can touch or be touched by a player. Throw-in violation.

Good find. 6-4-3 should probably note the additional exception in 9-2-8.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Never noticed this before. Is this not a contradiction?

6-4-3d: An alternating possession throw-in shall result when a live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows.

9-2-8: The thrown ball shall not become lodged between the backboard and ring or come to rest on the flange before it touches or is touched by another player.

violation.....ball awarded to opponent.......etc. etc.
No, it's not a contradiction. 6-4-3 "unless a throw-in follows." 9-2-8 indicates that a throw-in follows.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball lodged. Rita C Basketball 30 Sun Nov 22, 2009 06:17am
Lodged ball? btaylor64 Basketball 51 Thu Dec 07, 2006 01:35pm
Lodged Ball mrm21711 Baseball 15 Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:35am
"lodged" ball blueump Baseball 6 Fri May 27, 2005 05:12pm
Lodged ball. JRutledge Basketball 38 Thu Jul 18, 2002 06:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1