![]() |
|
|||
Foul or No Foul?
|
|
|||
I figured the call should not have been made for the following reasons:
1) The ref under the net should never be making this call. Doesn't the other ref have a better view of the play? 2) When the score if 57-57 with under 20 seconds to go, unless there's blood or an egregious foul, I'd never blow my whistle! If anything, in a case like this, if I were the other ref, I would have overruled the ref under the net and either called 'jump ball' (as the ball was pinned) or 'inadvertent whistle'. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Please give rulebook or casebook example to support this policy.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
To salvage something useful from this, what does everybody think about the contact after the driving offensive player passes off the ball?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
1) Officials have primary areas of coverage. The foul occurred in the Lead official's primary. The Lead is the official on the end line. It was his call. 2) This is a foul. To allow the defender to rake both arms of the shooter and not call the foul is an injustice to the shooter. The defender made a bad play. Neither the shooter nor his team should not be penalized for it, especially when the defender is beaten and #55 clearly has an advantageous position. Further: One official CANNOT overrule another. This isn't a "jump" ball. A jump ball occurs when the referee tosses the ball between to opponents to start the game or overtime. This is also not a held ball. The contact is on the shooter's arms. It is not on the ball, nor is the ball ever pinned anywhere. There is no inadvertent whistle in basketball. That's a football term. There is no accidental whistle here. A foul was called, and called correctly I might add. Here endeth the lesson.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Incidental. The defender goes straight up, the dribbler does not displace him. There is no advantage/disadvantage.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Am I watching the same video? Where was the ball pinned? Just making up s**t to suit your biased view of a play is not generally part of officiating ANY sport. If I were you, I'd just concentrate on getting my order right at the drive-thru.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999 Last edited by Bad Zebra; Fri Dec 18, 2009 at 10:17pm. |
|
|||
right call
not much to argue about, the call was right and solid. However, the ref should have done a better job of selling it. He knows how much time there is, he looks up at 18 sec. We have an expression here, "referee the key", he is way to far out. those are things an evaluator should deal with.
the call was solid tho, pass on it means you decide the game. The kids worked hard to penetrate the key and get a shot off, they deserve the foul call |
|
|||
Bad Zebra - Obviously you're unfamiliar with the term 'pinned' since it's not in the NFHS rule book or case book. Try to think a little outside the box.
BktBallRef: One official may not OVERRULE the other? Tell me then what happens if 1 official calls block and one calls charge and each is 100% adamant about their call and unwilling to change? According to your logic it's a stalemate and the game is stopped right there. And you are definitely one confused and ignorant official. A jump/held ball is indicated by the 'jump-ball' signal. Are you that ignorant of NFHS terminology? I can already tell you're one of those refs that wants the focus of any game on himself. See http://www.nfhs.org/Workarea/DownloadAsset.aspx?id=2867 for more info on basic terminology. Apparently scorers and timers know more than yoursef. |
|
|||
And I agree with Jallen - I don't so much disagree with the call as I do the positioning of the official. "Referee the key".
Remember: You are watching the call from a better angle than the lead ref. From the lead ref's angle, is that a foul? Can you see the contact from his/her vantage point? Or are you going by your hypothesis that a guard can't pin a centre? |
|
|||
Quote:
And I can tell you about a block and a charge...no stalemate its called a double foul. Are you JAR in disguise? You had your chance now go away. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Foul where distance gained prior to foul | wwcfoa43 | Football | 15 | Sun Feb 20, 2011 06:04pm |
Can you just call a team foul if you are not sure who the foul is on? Diebler | biggravy | Basketball | 18 | Sun Dec 13, 2009 07:20pm |
Foul tip caught, foul ball, or out? | bossman72 | Baseball | 9 | Sun Jul 09, 2006 11:03pm |
offensive foul, defensive foul or no call? | thereluctantref | Basketball | 2 | Mon Mar 13, 2006 01:12pm |
Anger over referee's foul calls triggers a bigger foul after game | BktBallRef | Basketball | 10 | Mon Mar 06, 2006 02:36am |