The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
4-4-2: A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

9-9-1: A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the forntcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

9.9.1D: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. A1's throw-in is deflected by B1 (ending the throw-in); A2 jumps from Team A's frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Violation. . . A2 gains player and team control in the air after having left the floor from Team A's frontcourt, therefore having froontcourt status.

Sounds like you are about to win a soda.

Edited: I type to slowly.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 439
What's the old saying: "you are where you are until you get where you going". In this case once he got there it was a violation
__________________
"The soldier is the army."

-General George S. Patton, Jr.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 01:33pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I usually make this call about once a year, and the coach's only question is whether or not the player landed in the BC before catching the pass. Land then catch = no violation. catch then land = violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I usually make this call about once a year, and the coach's only question is whether or not the player landed in the BC before catching the pass. Land then catch = no violation. catch then land = violation.
once a year? Really? A few seasons ago it seemed like I was calling this at least once a week. Now it's down to once every few weeks I'm calling this play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 05:58pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
once a year? Really? A few seasons ago it seemed like I was calling this at least once a week. Now it's down to once every few weeks I'm calling this play.
It just doesn't happen often at the high school level, even JV. I saw it more often when I was working middle school more often.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule Citation - Throw-in goes out-of-bounds whistleone Basketball 5 Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:34pm
Help with a rule citation? CoachCER Basketball 14 Sun Feb 08, 2009 10:49pm
FIBA - citation needed for counting the basket JugglingReferee Basketball 20 Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:36am
Rule Clarification and Citation cdoug Football 13 Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:06am
Backcourt ruling (NHFS rules) xxssmen Basketball 17 Wed Mar 14, 2007 01:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1