The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 13, 2009, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 674
OK, I'll give it a try!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Player A1 dribbling down the floor.

Player B1 (defense) running down the floor.

A1 dribbles into the path of B1 and both bodies hit the floor.

What do you have?
I've got a foul on A1 as he/she is the one who has created the contact. IMO, LGP has nothing to do is this stich. B1 is entitled to their spot/space on the floor. If A1 violates that, then it's a foul on them.
IOW, B1 got to the spot first.
__________________
THE FLY IS OPEN, LET'S GO PEAY
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 13, 2009, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Lcubed48, A1 starts a dribble just outside the elbow, B1 is running alongside A1 and as A1 gets a few feet from the basket briibles into B1 (or B1's path) and contact is made.

Do you still call a foul on A1?

Does LGP come into play in this situation?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 13, 2009, 05:32pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Lcubed48, A1 starts a dribble just outside the elbow, B1 is running alongside A1 and as A1 gets a few feet from the basket briibles into B1 (or B1's path) and contact is made.

Do you still call a foul on A1?

Does LGP come into play in this situation?
As I picture the play, it is not a LGP situation. The two players are running parallel. A1 moves into B1. Depending on the contact, I have a foul on A1 or nothing.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 15, 2009, 03:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny ringo View Post
lcubed48, a1 starts a dribble just outside the elbow, b1 is running alongside a1 and as a1 gets a few feet from the basket briibles into b1 (or b1's path) and contact is made.

Do you still call a foul on a1?

Does lgp come into play in this situation?
yes!

no!
__________________
THE FLY IS OPEN, LET'S GO PEAY
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 15, 2009, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 19
If the situation as described is that A is slightly ahead of B then it is Bs responsibility to yeild to A. Not much different that the two players running up the floor then the lead player (A) stops/slows and the behind player runs up their back. Not much different than a player driving down the outside of the lane, veers to the basket and gets clipped by a defensive player (B) running any straight path. Foul on B in all situations. That would be my call based on the rational that no legal guarding position is established, time and distance is not applied because A. no blind screen and B. a speeding player isn't getting screened with no chance of avoidance.

In this case, my imagination would have to call a foul on B or worst case a no call. I cant see a foul on A against who is ahead of a running defensive player that does not have legal guarding position.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 13, 2009, 10:41pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Player A1 dribbling down the floor.

Player B1 (defense) running down the floor.

A1 dribbles into the path of B1 and both bodies hit the floor.

What do you have?


Let us review some of the basics of guarding and screening:

1) The rules of guarding apply to the defense only.

2) The rules of screening apply to all ten (10) players. That even means the player in control of the ball.


Regarding this play, I agree that it is a HTBT play. Having said that, if B1 is running in a straight line and A1 moves into B1's path, A1 must give time and distance when setting his screen against B1.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Right Call or Wrong Call Johnny Ringo Football 24 Thu Oct 15, 2009 06:19pm
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Good Call / Bad Call whiskers_ump Softball 29 Fri Mar 28, 2003 09:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1