The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Dec 10, 2009, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member

4th foul

I realize we won't find it anywhere in the manuals but how aware should we be of the player's and their foul situations? Do you take notice when a kid picks up his/her 4th not wanting to give them a cheap 5th? Or do you go about your modus operandi as if that is part of the game and a foul is a foul regardless of how many the kid has?

I assume I will get both answers here so for those who do take note how do you go about it? If the team has a scoreboard that indicates the player's fouls I have been able to take note there, however when there isn't a scoreboard with such features how do you wise sagacious veterans go about knowing?
Old Thu Dec 10, 2009, 12:39pm
Archaic Power Monger

I'm just a basketball rookie myself but I try not to make any of my calls cheap.
Old Thu Dec 10, 2009, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member

At my modest level of officiating (2nd yr HS vars) I'm not concerned with player foul situations. I am aware when team fouls hit 6 but I don't concern myself with individual situations.

It seems like at higher levels (certainly big time D1) this would be a consideration though.
Old Thu Dec 10, 2009, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Kent View Post
I realize we won't find it anywhere in the manuals but how aware should we be of the player's and their foul situations? Do you take notice when a kid picks up his/her 4th not wanting to give them a cheap 5th? Or do you go about your modus operandi as if that is part of the game and a foul is a foul regardless of how many the kid has?