The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 08, 2009, 03:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 323
If I have this correct, no team control exists during the throw-in (4-12-6). The thrown in ends when touched by a player (4-42-5). Presumably that means you then have team control, which was established in the front court. A was the last to touch in the FC, and first to touch it in the BC, thus you have a violation.
__________________
Be like a duck: cool and calm on the surface but paddling like the devil underneath....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 08, 2009, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by buckrog64 View Post
If I have this correct, no team control exists during the throw-in (4-12-6). The thrown in ends when touched by a player (4-42-5). Presumably that means you then have team control, which was established in the front court. A was the last to touch in the FC, and first to touch it in the BC, thus you have a violation.
Not correct.

You were correct that the throw in ended when it was touched. However, that doesn't mean that team control has been established. In order to establish team control, a player must establish player control. The tap is not player control, therefore there is no team control until the player goes into the backcourt and gathers the ball.

There is never team control during a throw in, but there may or may not be team control after a throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 08, 2009, 04:03pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by buckrog64 View Post
If I have this correct, no team control exists during the throw-in (4-12-6). The thrown in ends when touched by a player (4-42-5). Presumably that means you then have team control, which was established in the front court. A was the last to touch in the FC, and first to touch it in the BC, thus you have a violation.
Incorrect. Check out 4-12-5.

4-12-5
Team control does not exist during a jump ball or the touching of a rebound, but it re-established when a player secures control.

With that said, check out 4-12-1.

Last edited by tjones1; Wed Dec 09, 2009 at 01:12am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 08, 2009, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 323
Thanks for clarifying. I knew I was missing something somewhere.
__________________
Be like a duck: cool and calm on the surface but paddling like the devil underneath....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yet another backcourt violation question ATXCoach Basketball 7 Mon Dec 18, 2006 03:27pm
Another backcourt violation question edge62 Basketball 10 Thu Feb 24, 2005 02:54pm
Backcourt Violation Question manhong Basketball 5 Thu Feb 10, 2005 08:34am
backcourt violation question pank Basketball 4 Tue Mar 09, 2004 05:58pm
Another Backcourt while inbounding? Art N Basketball 2 Thu Jun 08, 2000 08:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1