The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 16, 2009, 08:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7
Basket Interference

Question...A1 throws the ball in from the sideline in his own front court to A2, who is standing in the paint. The ball is thrown high and over A2's head and is actually above the basket and in the imaginary cylinder when B1 jumps and deflects the ball away from the basket. Is this basket interference?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 16, 2009, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Yes.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 16, 2009, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16
i don't know for sure but im gunna vote no because it is not a legal shot. You cant score on the inbounds pass. Basket interference would give team A 2 points for inbounding the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 16, 2009, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Question

Sam,
Reference please...Can it be basket interference when it can't be a made shot...
__________________
Of Course that's just my opinion, I could be wrong. -- Dennis Miller
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 16, 2009, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,048
Yes, this is BI. Remember on a throw in you can not have GT.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 16, 2009, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by refaholic2 View Post
Sam,
Reference please...Can it be basket interference when it can't be a made shot...
9.11.2 SITUATION C: Since it is a violation for thrower A1 to throw the ball directly into the basket from out of bounds, what happens if B1 touches the throw-in pass while the ball is in the cylinder above A's basket? RULING: B1 is charged with basket interference and a two-point goal is scored. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in anywhere along the end lines as after a scored goal except the official shall place the ball at the disposal of a player of Team B for a throw-in from any point outside the end line. (9-2-7)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 16, 2009, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 825
However - if the ball is untouched and goes in basket - violation on A1
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 16, 2009, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by refaholic2 View Post
Sam,
Reference please...Can it be basket interference when it can't be a made shot...
What does one have to do with the other? Read the definition of BI, and contrast it to the definition of GT.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 16, 2009, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by refaholic2 View Post
Sam,
Reference please...Can it be basket interference when it can't be a made shot...
A try is not required for BI. It is merely the ball being touched within the cylinder. (Granted: the ball usually gets within the cylinder via a try.)
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 16, 2009, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Yes it can

Quote:
Originally Posted by refaholic2 View Post
Sam,
Reference please...Can it be basket interference when it can't be a made shot...
Any time a live ball is touched while in the cylinder or if on the rim or in the basket and the rim or net is touched, we have BI.

BI and GT do not have the same requirements. GT requires that it be a try. BI does not. You can't GT on a shot at the wrong basket because by rule it is not a try but you can have BI in the same situation.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 16, 2009, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
For basketball interference it does not matter how the ball got there. For goaltending, it matters (i.e. there must be a try).

The situation meets the following criteria for BI:

4-6-2 : Touches the ball while any part of the ball is within the imaginary cylinder which has the basket ring as its lower base.
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 16, 2009, 07:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post
For basketball interference it does not matter how the ball got there.
Isn't that the defense's primary goal?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 16, 2009, 09:47pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,421
Headache And Two Points ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
A try is not required for BI. It is merely the ball being touched within the cylinder.
Or the basket being touched while the ball is on the basket.

And lets not forget that a long pass that hits player in the head and bounces off his head up into the cylinder, where it is touched by a player, is not a try, but it is basket interference.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16
Well i'll be dammned. You learn something new everyday.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basket interference, T or nothing? kycat1 Basketball 28 Tue Jan 23, 2007 09:13am
Basket Interference??? FrankHtown Basketball 7 Mon Feb 14, 2005 04:23pm
Basket Interference or not?? ref18 Basketball 3 Sun Jan 23, 2005 01:09pm
basket interference Ralph Stubenthal Basketball 17 Thu May 29, 2003 11:23am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1