Thread: Throw-in
View Single Post
  #53 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 11, 2009, 06:58pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
For those debating the merits of charging any technical fouls in this situation (thrower purposely places the ball on the floor OOB within the designated throw-in spot and the defender reaches across the boundary plane and grabs the ball), please consider these rules:


10-3-10 A player shall not:... Reach through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touch or dislodge the ball as in 9-2 Penalty 3.

9-2 Penalty 3.
If an opponent(s) of the thrower reaches through the throw-in boundary line plane and touches or dislodges the ball while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate outside the boundary line (as in 7-5-7), a technical foul shall be charged to the offender. No warning for delay required. See 10-3-10 Penalty.

So, obviously one must consider what constitutes the ball being "in possession of the thrower" when deciding if a technical foul would be proper.

Please carry-on now.
Reply With Quote