The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfp View Post
After the ball was bobbled by A, couldn't A have called a time-out to save them from the eventual violation?
Ooh. Good point. I hadn't thought of that.

If the ball is rolling around, is it "in control or at the disposal of" A1, as required by 5-8-3a?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 12:12pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Ooh. Good point. I hadn't thought of that.

If the ball is rolling around, is it "in control or at the disposal of" A1, as required by 5-8-3a?
It's at the disposal, to be sure. However, the precedent of the free throw case play doesn't give A the opportunity to save the violation with a timeout. Which is odd, becuase on the freethrow RPP, they do have that opportunity.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
twist...A1 intentionally sets the ball down within reach of the throw-in area say three feet away. B1 reaches through and grabs it...T on B1 right? could you have unsporting T on A1? granted B1 shouldn't take the bait, but this is obviously unusual and A1 intentionally would have done so to draw B1 into a tech.....this obviously for all of the coaches who roam this board
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 12:35pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Well, I could be convinced otherwise, I suppose, with sufficient reasoning, but I can't imagine calling the T on A1 for this.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
twist...A1 intentionally sets the ball down within reach of the throw-in area say three feet away. B1 reaches through and grabs it...T on B1 right? could you have unsporting T on A1? granted B1 shouldn't take the bait, but this is obviously unusual and A1 intentionally would have done so to draw B1 into a tech.....this obviously for all of the coaches who roam this board

Using that logic, in another situation, you'd have to call a T on A1 who does a basic pump fake hoping B1 fouls him.

Caveat Emptor.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 12:53pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
Using that logic, in another situation, you'd have to call a T on A1 who does a basic pump fake hoping B1 fouls him.

Caveat Emptor.
Agreed, the onus is on the defender not to reach across.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
You don't see an angle by the definition of unsporting foul?

"...noncontact technical foul which consists of unfair, unethical, dishonorable conduct or any behavior not in accordance with the spirit of fair play"

One could argue that play is not "in the spirit of fair play"....I believe a tech either way could be defended...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
I could even think of a situation where a coach might attempt to employ this strategy...down 5 with 1 second left in the game....you aren't getting two shots off in one second obviously, but if you can draw team B into a tech then you could put two on the board with no time coming off...now you have the ball at half court, down 3 with one second left...you have a helluva a lot better chance that B1 will take the bait than you do scoring 5 pts in 1 second otherwise...now I agree that B1 should know better than to reach through, but to me an obvious attempt to draw an opponent into a technical foul should be penalized as unsporting and I believe the definition of unsporting foul allows you that latitude...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 01:23pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Sure, you could defend it if you had to; but I think it's a stretch. As fullor30 points out, you could do the same with a pump fake. You going to call a T at the start of a quarter when the offense lines up at the wrong end of the court with the hopes of luring the defense to the wrong end?

You might be able to stretch the meaning to include this play, but I would expect I'd have a very hard time justifying it to my assignors.

Just because it may be bush league doesn't mean it's a T.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 11, 2009, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
You don't see an angle by the definition of unsporting foul?

"...noncontact technical foul which consists of unfair, unethical, dishonorable conduct or any behavior not in accordance with the spirit of fair play"

One could argue that play is not "in the spirit of fair play"....I believe a tech either way could be defended...

If we're partners and you decide to call a T on that one in close game with seconds to go.............I'm in the parking lot fully dressed with the engine running before you're administering.

I realize it's just forum discussion but in my eye it doesn't come remotely close to any criteria for an unsporting foul that you suggest.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw in Bizket786 Basketball 10 Thu Oct 21, 2004 01:10pm
Throw-in 1-2-3-4-5 PP Basketball 10 Fri Nov 09, 2001 03:51am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1