We've discussed this play before. The NCAA has a play ruling which directs the official to stop play and re-administer the throw-in, the NFHS does not.
Therefore, the thrower fumbling the ball away from the designated-spot has to be treated as failing to throw the ball directly into the court and is a throw-in violation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Always listen to bob. While the ball was released, it wasn't released for a pass. "Dribbling" is explicitly allowed. If B1 reached in and stole the dribble, you'd have a T.
|
I'm glad that you put "dribbling" in quotation marks because technically the action isn't a dribble. According to Fundamental #5 the dribbling rule does not operate during a throw-in. Therefore, this is merely bouncing the ball on the floor at an OOB location.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
If the player started to throw then attempted to pull it back, fumbled, and the ball was bouncing OOB within the throwin spot, wouldn't you allow them to grab it?
|
Yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Take away the defender reaching across and grabbing it, are you going to call the violation on the thrower?
|
If the ball has left the designated-throw-in spot, then yes.