The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 11:24am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
NCAA and NFHS have different rulings for the same play. *New Case Play. Page 70, 9.2.1 Situation B, example b. After receiving the ball from the official, fumbles the ball and leaves the designated spot to retreive the fumble. Ruling:A throw-in violation shall be called on A1 for leaving the designated spot.
So, YES! NFHS does have a case ruling the play. Their interp is the violation for leaving the spot.
In my play, the ball caroms away from A1. The play happens so fast that B1 touches the ball on the OOB side of the boundary line before A1 leave the designated spot. A1 never throws/passes the ball. The only rule infraction I can see is that an opponent of the thrower reaches over the boundary line before the ball has been released on a throw-in pass and has touched the ball.
How far away from the spot was the ball when B1 reached across and got it?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 11:32am
rfp rfp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 103
Team A hadn't violated - yet

I agree with Zoochy. The violation on A had not occurred yet: leaving the designated spot or reaching the 5-second count. The only violation to be called is on B for crossing the boundary plane. After the ball was bobbled by A, couldn't A have called a time-out to save them from the eventual violation?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfp View Post
After the ball was bobbled by A, couldn't A have called a time-out to save them from the eventual violation?
Ooh. Good point. I hadn't thought of that.

If the ball is rolling around, is it "in control or at the disposal of" A1, as required by 5-8-3a?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 12:12pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Ooh. Good point. I hadn't thought of that.

If the ball is rolling around, is it "in control or at the disposal of" A1, as required by 5-8-3a?
It's at the disposal, to be sure. However, the precedent of the free throw case play doesn't give A the opportunity to save the violation with a timeout. Which is odd, becuase on the freethrow RPP, they do have that opportunity.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
twist...A1 intentionally sets the ball down within reach of the throw-in area say three feet away. B1 reaches through and grabs it...T on B1 right? could you have unsporting T on A1? granted B1 shouldn't take the bait, but this is obviously unusual and A1 intentionally would have done so to draw B1 into a tech.....this obviously for all of the coaches who roam this board
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 12:35pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Well, I could be convinced otherwise, I suppose, with sufficient reasoning, but I can't imagine calling the T on A1 for this.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
twist...A1 intentionally sets the ball down within reach of the throw-in area say three feet away. B1 reaches through and grabs it...T on B1 right? could you have unsporting T on A1? granted B1 shouldn't take the bait, but this is obviously unusual and A1 intentionally would have done so to draw B1 into a tech.....this obviously for all of the coaches who roam this board

Using that logic, in another situation, you'd have to call a T on A1 who does a basic pump fake hoping B1 fouls him.

Caveat Emptor.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 12:53pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
Using that logic, in another situation, you'd have to call a T on A1 who does a basic pump fake hoping B1 fouls him.

Caveat Emptor.
Agreed, the onus is on the defender not to reach across.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw in Bizket786 Basketball 10 Thu Oct 21, 2004 01:10pm
Throw-in 1-2-3-4-5 PP Basketball 10 Fri Nov 09, 2001 03:51am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1